football-d3 flag | November 13, 2016

NCAA Division III football committee selects championship field

DIII Football: 2016 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division III Football Committee announced today the field of 32 teams for the 2016 NCAA Division III Football Championship. The committee selected teams based on conference results and competition within an institution's respective evaluation region.

Twenty-five conferences received automatic-qualifying berths. One berth is reserved for a true independent or a team that is a member of a conference that does not receive automatic qualification. The remaining six berths were awarded to teams from either automatic qualifying conferences that did not win an automatic berth, the remaining true independent teams or teams in non-automatic qualifying conferences.

DIII FOOTBALL CHAMPIONSHIP: Interactive bracket | Printable bracket

The first round of the championship will be played November 19 at the host institution's campus or at an alternate site approved by the football committee. The Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl, the national championship game, will be played Friday, December 16, at Salem Stadium in Salem, Virginia. The game will be broadcast live on ESPNU at 7 p.m. Eastern time. 

Conferences and Teams Receiving Automatic Qualification
Centennial Conference Johns Hopkins University
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin North Central College
Eastern Collegiate Football Conference Husson University
Empire 8 Alfred University
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference  Coe College
Liberty League Hobart College
Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletic Conference Bridgewater State University
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Olivet College
Middle Atlantic States Collegiate Athletic Conference  Stevenson University 
Midwest Conference Monmouth College (Illinois)
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference  University of St. Thomas (Minnesota)
New England Football Conference  Western New England University
New Jersey Athletic Conference  Wesley College
North Coast Athletic Conference  Wittenberg University
Northern Athletics Conference Lakeland University
Northwest Conference  Linfield College
Ohio Athletic Conference John Carroll University
Old Dominion Athletic Conference  Randolph-Macon College
Presidents' Athletic Conference  Thomas More College
Southern Athletic Association Washington University in St. Louis
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference  University of Redlands
Upper Midwest Athletic Conference  University of Northwestern-St. Paul
USA South Athletic Conference Huntingdon College
Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference  University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
Pool B Berth
University of Mary Hardin-Baylor
Pool C Berth
Hardin-Simmons University
University of Mount Union
St. John's University (Minnesota)
Wheaton College (Illinois)
University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
University of Wisconsin-Platteville

The Division III Football Committee also announced the following 16 regional sites:

Belton, Texas – Redlands vs. Mary Hardin-Baylor

Abilene, Texas – Linfield vs Hardin-Simmons

Wheaton, Illinois – Huntingdon vs. Wheaton (Illinois)

Naperville, Illinois – Rose-Hulman vs. North Central (Illinois)

Alfred, New York – Bridgewater State vs. Alfred

Springfield, Massachusetts – Husson vs. Western

New England Geneva, New York – Mount Union vs. Hobart

Baltimore, Maryland – Randolph-Macon vs. Johns Hopkins

St. Paul, Minnesota – Northwestern-St. Paul vs. St. Thomas (Minnesota)

Cedar Rapids, Iowa – Monmouth (Illinois) vs. Coe

Collegeville, Minnesota – Wisconsin-Platteville vs. Saint John's (Minnesota)

Oshkosh, Wisconsin – Washington U. in St. Louis vs Wisconsin-Oshkosh

University Heights, Ohio – Olivet vs. John Carroll

Dover, Delaware – Stevenson vs. Wesley

Crestview Hills, Kentucky – Wittenberg vs. Thomas More

Whitewater, Wisconsin – Lakeland vs. Wisconsin-Whitewater

All games start at noon local time.

In the 2015 championship, the University of Mount Union defeated the University of St. Thomas (Minnesota) 49-35. 

College football rankings: Penn State, BYU climb, UCLA falls in AP Top 25 poll for Week 4

Here's everything you need to know about the latest AP Top 25 poll from Sept. 19, 2021.

College football rankings: Top 25 scores, schedule for Week 4

It's Week 4 of the 2021 college football season. Here's a look at the Week 4 Top 25 schedule and scores, with Notre Dame playing Wisconsin in Chicago and Texas A&M facing Arkansas in two ranked showdowns.

College football: TV schedule and game times

Here are the college football TV schedules for every week and game times for the 2021 season.