football-fbs flag

Ryan Cooper | | December 4, 2016

New Year's Six matchups announced

  MAC champion Western Michigan is heading to the Cotton Bowl after going 13-0.

The lineup for the sextet of bowl games — known as the New Year's Six — selected by the College Football Playoff committee has been announced.

The 12 teams for the six games — the Peach Bowl, Fiesta Bowl, Rose Bowl, Sugar Bowl, Orange Bowl and Cotton Bowl — were revealed Saturday.

The participants in the two Playoff semifinals were first revealed, with No. 1 Alabama meeting No. 4 Washington in Atlanta for the Peach Bowl while No. 2 Clemson and No. 3 Ohio State will travel west for the Fiesta Bowl in Glendale, Arizona. The winners of those two games will then meet in Tampa, Florida, on Jan. 9.

The other four games are as follows:

In the Orange Bowl on Dec. 30, No. 6 Michigan will take on No. 11 Florida State. The Wolverines went 10-2 but missed out on the Big Ten Championship Game thanks to a pair of late-season losses, while Florida State went 9-3, ending the regular season with an impressive win against SEC East champion Florida.

As the highest-ranking Group of Five winner, unbeaten MAC champion and No. 15 Western Michigan received an automatic bid to the Cotton Bowl — the first of three Jan. 2 games — and will get a chance to show what it's truly made of against Big Ten runner-up and No. 8 Wisconsin.

The team that topped the Badgers in the Big Ten Championship Game, No. 5 Penn State, will compete in the Rose Bowl after being the first team missing out on a Playoff spot. That game will come against No. 9 Southern California, which lost three of its first four games to start the year but completely turned things around, winning eight straight including a win at Washington.

Finally, Big 12 champion Oklahoma will take on No. 14 Auburn in the Sugar Bowl. The No. 7 Sooners' Playoff hopes were all but dashed by Week 3 after losing two of their first three games, but they caught fire from there, rattling off a 9-0 record in conference play. Meanwhile, Auburn was one of the most pleasant surprises this season after only receiving 22 votes in the preseason AP poll. However, the Tigers come into the game in New Orleans losers of two of their last three.

Times, TV info and locations can be found in the table below:

Bowl Teams Time (ET) Location Network
Orange Bowl (12/30) No. 6 Michigan vs. No. 11 Florida State 8 p.m. Miami ESPN
Fiesta Bowl (semifinal) (12/31) No. 2 Clemson vs. No. 3 Ohio State 7 p.m. Glendale, Ariz. ESPN
Peach Bowl (semifinal) (12/31) No. 1 Alabama vs. No. 4 Washington 3 p.m. Atlanta ESPN
Cotton Bowl (1/2) No. 8 Wisconsin vs. No. 15 Western Michigan 1 p.m. Arlington, Texas ESPN
Rose Bowl (1/2) No. 5 Penn State vs. No. 9 Southern California 5 p.m. Pasadena, Calif. ESPN
Sugar Bowl (1/2) No. 7 Oklahoma vs. No. 14 Auburn 8:30 p.m. New Orleans ESPN

2022 Alabama football schedule: Dates, times, TV channels, scores

Here's the Alabama football schedule for the 2022 season, including opponents, scores and TV networks.

The mystery behind how Alabama got the nickname 'Crimson Tide'

Former sports editor Hugh "Doc" Roberts is credited with giving Alabama its Crimson Tide nickname — but that's not the whole story.

Georgia jumps Ohio State, Michigan enters the top 4 for Week 2 AP Poll

The first full week of college football led to some big changes in the AP Poll as Georgia moved in front of Ohio State and Michigan entered the top four.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners