football-fbs flag

Anthony Chiusano | | December 7, 2016

2016 conference awards: Who took home top honors?

  FSU defensive end DeMarcus Walker was named ACC Defensive Player of the Year.

While this upcoming college football weekend is dedicated to a select number of teams battling out for the title of conference champion, most FBS conferences have already handed out individual honors to recognize those who stood out among the best in each league this season.

Read on below for a roundup of all the accolades given out to the top coaches and players this regular season from each conference:


Offensive POTY: Quinton Flowers | USF | QB

Defensive POTY: Shaquem Griffin | UCF | LB

Coach of the year: Ken Niumatalolo | Navy

More AAC awards: Rookies of the Year, All-AAC teams, Special Teams POTY and more


Offensive POTY: Lamar Jackson | Louisville | QB

Defensive POTY: DeMarcus Walker | Florida State | DE

Coach of the year: Justin Fuente | Virginia Tech

More ACC awards: Rookies of the Year | All-ACC teams

Big 12:

Offensive POTY: Dede Westbrook | Oklahoma | WR

Defensive POTY: Jordan Willis | Kansas State | DL

Coach of the year: Bob Stoops | Oklahoma

More Big 12 awards: Additional individual awards

Big Ten:

Offensive POTY: Saquon Barkley | Penn State | RB

Defensive POTY: Jabrill Peppers | Michigan | LB/S

Coach of the year: James Franklin | Penn State

More Big Ten awards: All-Big Ten Conference teams and additional individual honors

Conference USA:

Offensive POTY: Carlos Henderson | Louisiana Tech | WR

Defensive POTY: Trey Hendrickson | Florida Atlantic | DE

Coach of the year: Skip Holtz | Louisiana Tech

More Conference USA awards: All-Conference USA teams | Additional individual honors


Offensive POTY: Corey Davis | Western Michigan | WR

Defensive POTY: Tarell Basham | Ohio | DE

Coach of the year: P.J. Fleck | Western Michigan

More MAC awards: All-MAC teams and more individual honors


Offensive POTY: Donnel Pumphrey | San Diego State | RB

Defensive POTY: Damontae Kazee | San Diego State | DB

Coach of the year: Craig Bohl | Wyoming

More MWC awards: All-MWC teams and more individual honors


Offensive POTY: Jake Browning | Washington | QB

Defensive POTY: Adoree' Jackson | USC | DB

Coach of the year: Mike MacIntyre | Colorado

More Pac-12 awards: All-Pac-12 teams and more individual honors


Offensive POTY: Jalen Hurts | Alabama | QB

Defensive POTY: Jonathan Allen | Alabama | DE

Coach of the year: Nick Saban | Alabama

More SEC awards: All-SEC teams | Additional individual honors

Sun Belt:

Offensive POTY: Jalin Moore | Appalachian State | RB

Defensive POTY: Rashad Dillard | Troy | DL

Coach of the year: Paul Petrino | Idaho

More Pac-12 awards: All-Sun Belt teams and more individual honors

Week 3's FCS game of the week pits No. 2 James Madison vs. No. 8 Weber State in a top-10 clash

For this week's FCS game of the week, take a trip to Ogden, Utah where No. 2 James Madison faces No. 8 Weber State in the Week 3's top-10 matchup.

Trevor Lawrence: College football career, stats, highlights, records

Here's everything you need to know about Jacksonville Jaguars quarterback Trevor Lawrence's college career.

Joe Burrow: College football career, stats, highlights, records

Here's everything you need to know about Cincinnati Bengals quarterback Joe Burrow's college career.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners