football-d2 flag

NCAA | November 13, 2017

NCAA Division II Football Championship field announced

DII Football: 2017 Selection Show

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division II Football Committee announced today the field of 28 teams for the 2017 NCAA Division II Football Championship.

Twelve first-round games will be conducted on the campus of one of the competing institutions. In addition, one team per super regional has earned a first-round bye. The first-round winners will all advance to the second round with games on the campus of one of the competing institutions. Second-round winners will meet in the quarterfinals at various campus sites. Quarterfinal winners will advance to play in the semifinals on the campus of one of the competing institutions. Seven teams selected per super regional make up the field of 28 teams.

RELATED: Interactive bracket

The first-round dates, sites and pairings are:

Date Away team Home team Location
November 18 Findlay (9-2) Shepherd (10-0) Shepherdstown, West Virginia

November 18

California (Pa) (9-2) Assumption (9-1) Worcester, Massachusetts
November 18 West Chester (8-3) Shippensburg (10-1) Shippensburg, Pennsylvania 
November 18 West Georgia (8-3) Virginia State (9-0) Petersburg, Virignia
November 18 West Florida (7-3) Wingate (9-1) Wingate, North Carolina 
November 18 Delta State (8-3) Bowie State (9-1) Bowie, Maryland
November 18 Harding (8-3) UIndy (11-0) Indianapolis, Indiana
November 18 Northwest Missouri State (9-2) Ashland (10-1)  Ashland, Ohio
November 18 Ouachita Baptist (9-2)  Ferris State (9-1) Big Rapids, Michigan
November 18 Colorado State-Pueblo (9-2) Minnesota State Mankato (11-0) Mankato, Minnesota
November 18 Sioux Falls (9-2) Midwestern State (9-0) Wichita Falls, Texas
November 18 Texas A&M-Commerce (9-1) Winona State (10-1) Winona, Minnesota

The following institutions earned first-round byes in each super regional and will host a second-round game on November 25, 2017.

Super Regional One: 

1. Indiana (Pennsylvania) (11-0)                                                      

Super Regional Two:

1. West Alabama (9-1)

Super Regional Three:                                                     

1. Fort Hays State (11-0)

Super Regional Four:

1. Central Washington (11-0)

All contests shall start at 1 p.m. local time. Other times may be established if approved by the committee.

Northwest Missouri State defeated North Alabama 29-3 in the 2016 national championship game to claim last year’s NCAA title.

The championship game will be played December 16, at 6 p.m. Eastern time at Children’s Mercy Park in Kansas City, Kansas and will be broadcast live on ESPN2 HD/

Super Region One     Super Region Two     Super Region Three    Super Region Four

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners