football-fcs flag

Ralph D. Russo | The Associated Press | December 12, 2017

James Madison leads with three on AP FCS All-America team

  Defending national champ James Madison has three first team All-Americans, including DL Andrew Ankrah.

Defending national champion and top-ranked James Madison placed three players on The Associated Press FCS All-America first team, more than any other school.

The team, chosen by a panel of 10 media members who cover the second tier of Division I football, was released Tuesday.


James Madison was represented by offensive lineman Aaron Stinnie, defensive lineman Andrew Ankrah and defensive back Jordan Brown. The Dukes play South Dakota State in the FCS semifinals on Saturday.

South Dakota quarterback Chris Streveler and UC Davis receiver Keelan Doss, two of the three finalists for the Walter Payton Award that goes to the best offensive player in FCS, were also selected as All-Americans. The other finalist, Sam Houston quarterback Jeremiah Briscoe, was selected to the second team. Briscoe won the Payton last year.

The 2017 Associated Press FCS All-America team:



Position Name Class School
Quarterback Chris Streveler Senior South Dakota
Running backs Dominick Bragalone Junior Lehigh
  Josh Mack Sophomore Maine
Linemen Brandon Parker Senior North Carolina A&T
  Austin Kuhnert Senior North Dakota State
  Jacob Ohnesorge Senior South Dakota State
  Aaron Stinnie Senior James Madison
  Justin Lea Senior Jacksonville State
Tight end Dallas Goedert Senior South Dakota State
Receivers Keelan Doss Junior UC Davis
  Davion Davis Junior Sam Houston State
All-purpose player John Santiago Junior North Dakota
Kicker Trey Tuttle Freshman Weber State


Position Name Class School
Linemen Andrew Ankrah Senior James Madison
  Jonathan Petersen Senior San Diego
  Darius Jackson Senior Jacksonville State
  P.J. Hall Senior Sam Houston State
Linebackers Brett Taylor Senior Western Illinois
  Darius Leonard Senior South Carolina State
  Nick DeLuca Senior North Dakota State
Backs Mike Basile Senior Monmouth
  George Odum Senior Central Arkansas
  Taron Johnson Senior Weber State
  Jordan Brown Senior James Madison
Punter Joe Zema Senior Incarnate Word



Position Name Class School
Quarterback Jeremiah Briscoe Senior Sam Houston State
Running backs Roc Thomas Senior Jacksonville State
  Zane Dudek Freshman Yale
Linemen Stetson Dagel Senior  South Dakota
  John Cook Junior Central Arkansas
  Timon Parris Senior Stony Brook
  Ben Huss Senior  Duquesne
  Matthew Schmidt  Senior  Furman
Tight end Andrew Vollert Senior Weber State
Receivers Neil O'Connor Junior New Hampshire
  Jaelon Acklin Senior Western Illinois
All-purpose player Elijah Marks Senior  Northern Arizona
Kicker Gunnar Raborn Junior  McNeese State


Position Name Class  School
Linemen Anthony Ellis Senior Charleston Southern
  Ahmad Gooden Junior Samford
  Jaison Williams Sophomore Austin Peay
  Abdullah Anderson Senior  Bucknell
Linebackers Matthew Oplinger  Senior  Yale
  Jared Farley  Senior Northern Iowa
  Brandon Bryant  Senior  Lafayette
Backs Marlon Bridges Sophomore  Jacksonville State
  Phillip Parham Senior Lafayette
  Davontae Harris Senior Illinois State
  Rashad Robinson Junior James Madison
Punter  Ian Berryman Junior  Western Carolina



Position Name Class  School
Quarterback Chandler Burks Junior Kennesaw State
Running backs De'Lance Turner Senior Alcorn State
  Detrez Newsome Senior  Western Carolina
Linemen Skyler Phillips Senior Idaho State
  Zach Mitchler Junior Kennesaw State
  Alex Thompson Senior  Monmouth
  Iosua Opeta  Junior  Weber State
  Ross Demmel Junior  Wofford
Tight end Ross Dwelley Senior San Diego
Receivers Nathan Stewart Sophomore Sam Houston State
  Justin Watson Senior  Penn
All-purpose player Khris Gardin Senior North Carolina A&T
Kicker Lorran Fonseca Junior Nicholls State


Position Name Class School
Linemen Darin Greenfield Sophomore South Dakota
  Chris Terrell Sophomore Central Arkansas
  Ben Sorensen Senior Sacramento State
  Nick Wheeler Sophomore Colgate
Linebackers Garrett Dolan Senior Houston Baptist
  Thomas Costigan Junior Bryant
  Christian Rozeboom Sophomore South Dakota State
Backs Elijah Campbell Sophomore Northern Iowa
  Franklin McCain III RS Freshman North Carolina A&T
  Tremon Smith  Senior Central Arkansas
  Davanta Reynolds Junior North Carolina Central
Punter Austin Barnard Senior Samford

This article was written by Ralph D. Russo from The Associated Press and was legally licensed through the NewsCred publisher network. Please direct all licensing questions to


Aliyah Boston's double-double headlines this week's Starting Five in women's basketball

Aliyah Boston collected her 16th straight double-double against a ranked opponent with No. 1 South Carolina's huge 76-71 overtime win over No. 2 Stanford.

Alabama drops, Tennessee rises and James Madison enters in Week 7's AP Top 25

While six ranked teams lost, the top 10 teams prevailed in Week 6. What does that mean for this week’s AP Poll? Let's break down the changes and movement entering Week 7.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners