football-d2 flag

Ralph D. Russo | The Associated Press | December 13, 2017

Texas A&M-Commerce quarterback Perez leads All-American first team

Luis Perez leads DII in yards passing with 4,390 and has thrown 42 touchdowns.

Texas A&M-Commerce quarterback Luis Perez and Gannon running back Marc Jones highlight The Associated Press Division II All-America team.

Perez leads D-II in yards passing with 4,390 yards and has thrown 42 touchdowns. The senior has guided Texas A&M-Commerce to the Division II national championship game, where it will play West Florida on Saturday in Kansas City, Kansas.

Jones is Division II's leading rusher at 197.8 yards per game.

Perez and Jones are among 10 finalists for the Harlon Hill Trophy, given to the most outstanding player in Division II. Other finalists selected to first-team All-America were Slippery Rock defensive lineman Marcus Martin and Central Oklahoma receiver J.T. Luper.

The team was selected by a panel of sports information directors from around the country.



Position Name Class School
Quarterback Luis Perez Senior Texas A&M-Commerce
Running backs Marc Jones Senior  Gannon
  Cameron Mayberry Sophomore Colorado School of Mines
Linemen Alex Cappa Senior Humboldt State
  Lavonte Hights Senior Shepherd
  Dominic Giunta Senior Ashland
  Harley Vaughn Senior West Georgia
  Gavin De Los Santos Senior Harding
Tight end D.J. Cornish Sophomore Shepherd
Receivers J.T. Luper Senior Central Oklahoma
  Weston Carr  Sophomore Azusa Pacific
All-purpose player Devontae Jackson Junior West Georgia
Kicker Casey Bednarski Junior Minnesota State


Position Name Class  School
Linemen Marcus Martin Senior Slippery Rock
  Bo Banner Senior Central Washington
  Adonis Davis Junior Florida Tech
  Myles Humphrey Senior Shepherd
Linebacker Kevin Haynes Senior Central Washington
  Terry Samuel Junior West Alabama
  Dennis Gardeck Senior Sioux Falls
Backs Tyler Hasty Junior Central Washington
  Tavierre Thomas Senior Ferris State
  J.R. Stevens Sophomore Indiana (PA)
  Chris Johnson Junior North Alabama
Punter  Justin Marcha Senior Emporia State



Position Name Class School
Quarterback Travis Tarnowski Senior Ashland
Running backs Walter Fletcher Sophomore Edinboro
  Deshawn Jones Sophomore Missouri S&T
Linemen Andrew Alten Senior Findlay
  Jerron Seales Senior Indiana (PA)
  Jake Daugherty Senior Ferris State
  Daniel Owens Senior  Wingate 
  Jared Machorro Senior Texas A&M-Commerce
Tight end Qua Boyd Junior West Alabama
Receivers Marcus Johnson Senior Slippery Rock
  Jalen Tolliver Senior Arkansas-Monticello
All-purpose player Ja'Quan Gardner Senior Humboldt State
Kicker Cole Tracy Senior Assumption


Position Name Class School
Linemen Evan Perrizo Senior Minnesota State
  Zach Seiler Junior Ferris State
  Nathan Shepherd Senior Fort Hays State
  John Williamson Junior West Florida
Linebacker Kyle Kitchens Senior Catawba
  Sam Blankenship Junior Harding
  Tyler Morrisey Junior West Chester
Backs Tevin Madison Senior West Alabama
  Cua' Rose Junior Arkansas Tech
  Aaron Ivory Senior Findlay
  Marvin Conley Junior West Florida
Punter Zach Gaines Sophomore West Alabama

This article was written by Ralph D. Russo from The Associated Press and was legally licensed through the NewsCred publisher network. Please direct all licensing questions to

9 winningest FCS teams in college football history

Here are the nine FCS football programs with the most all-time wins entering the 2019-20 season.

The shortest overtime games in college football history

The longest college football overtime game — five of them actually — spanned seven overtimes and kept the scoreboard operator busy putting points up on the board. But what have the shortest overtime games been?

Everything Michigan head coach Jim Harbaugh said about the upcoming season at Big Ten media days

Michigan head coach Jim Harbaugh spoke at the Big Ten media day on Friday. Here's what he said.