football-d2 flag

Wayne Cavadi | | December 17, 2017

Texas A&M-Commerce wins first DII national championship

DII Football Championship: Texas A&M Commerce defeats West Florida

The Texas A&M-Commerce Lions are 2017 Division II football national champions after defeating West Florida 37-27 from Children's Mercy Park in Kansas City, Kan.

Interactive bracket | Printable bracket 

Both teams entered the title game looking for its first NCAA DII national championship. Texas A&M-Commerce was led by Luis Perez, named the Harlon Hill Award winner as the best player in DII football just one day earlier. He was sensational in leading the Lions to their first championship, completing 23 of 30 passes for 323 yards and two touchdowns.

RELATED: Full recap of the 2017 DII Football Championship

West Florida, as they have all season, showed no quit. In just its second year of existence, the Argos fought their way back several times. A strong effort by wide receiver Antoine Griffin (112 yards and one touchdown) had the Argonauts in the game to the very end. The Lions simply proved too much.

Texas A&M-Commerce finishes the season 14-1. Relive all the big moments, stats and highlights below.

9 potential breakout FCS football teams in the 2022 season

Here's a look at the potential breakout FCS teams for the 2022 season.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners