football-fbs flag

Daniel Wilco | | December 14, 2018

College Football Awards Show: Time, TV schedule, finalists, and winners

USA Today Sports Images Tua Tagovailoa is a finalist for two College Football Awards Tua Tagovailoa is up for two awards at the 2018 College Football Awards show, asAlabama leads all school with six finalists.

The College Football Awards show aired Thursday at 7 p.m. ET. The show, which took place in the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, saw 14 awards presented, with three winners announced before the event.

Here’s everything you need to know about it:


Alabama led the way with six finalists for awards, including Tua Tagovailoa and Quinnen Williams, who both won awards.

The two awards Tagovailoa was up for held extra significance due to another award being presented this Saturday — the Heisman.

Tagovailoa and Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray were both in the running for the Maxwell Award for the college player of the year. Tagovailoa won the Maxwell Award, while Murray claimed the Davey O’Brien award for the nation’s best quarterback. He and Tagovailoa are also two of the three finalists for the Heisman.

RELATED: Comparing the 2018 Heisman finalists: How do Tua Tagovailoa, Kyler Murray, and Dwayne Haskins stack up?

The Maxwell Award was established in 1937, two years after the Heisman. Since then, 39 of the 81 winners of the Maxwell Award went on to win the Heisman (48.1 percent). The Davey O’Brien Award was first presented in 1981, and 18 of its 37 winners have gone on to win the Heisman (48.6 percent). Only 10 players have ever won all three:

Year Winner of Heisman, Maxwell, & Davey O'Brien School
1984 Doug Flutie Boston College
1986 Vinny Testaverde Miami
1990 Ty Detmer BYU
1992 Gino Torretta Miami
1993 Charlie Ward Florida State
1996 Danny Wuerffel Florida
2007 Tim Tebow Florida
2010 Cam Newton Auburn
2014 Marcus Mariota Oregon
2017 Baker Mayfield Oklahoma

MORE: College football bowl schedule, scores, TV listings, matchup information


Here is a list of all college football awards, finalists and winners for each:

Chuck Bednarik Award

Description: College Defensive Player of the Year

Finalists: Josh Allen, Kentucky (Sr.); Christian Wilkins, Clemson (Gr.); Quinnen Williams, Alabama (So.)

Winner: Josh Allen, Kentucky (Sr.)

Biletnikoff Award

Description: Outstanding receiver

Finalists: Andy Isabella, UMass (Sr.); Jerry Jeudy, Alabama (So.); Tylan Wallace, Oklahoma State (So.)

Winner: Jerry Jeudy, Alabama (So.)

Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award

Description: Nation’s Outstanding Placekicker

Finalists: Cooper Rothe, Wyoming (So.); Andre Szmut, Syracuse (Fr.); Cole Tracy, LSU (Sr.)

Winner: Andre Szmut, Syracuse (Fr.)

Ray Guy Award

Description: College Punter of the Year

Finalists: Braden Mann, Texas A&M (Jr.); James Smith, Cincinnati (So.); Mitch Wishnowsky, Utah (So.)

Winner: Braden Mann, Texas A&M (Jr.)

Maxwell Award

Description: College Player of the Year

Finalists: Will Grier, West Virginia (Sr.); Kyler Murray, Oklahoma (Jr.); Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama (So.)

Winner: Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama (So.)

Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award

Description: Nation’s Best Quarterback

Finalists: Gardner Minshew II, Washington State (Gr.); Kyler Murray, Oklahoma (Jr.); Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama (So.)

Winner: Kyler Murray, Oklahoma (Jr.)

Outland Trophy

Description: Nation’s Most Outstanding Interior Lineman

Finalists: Christian Wilkins, Clemson (Gr.); Jonah Williams, Alabama (So.); Quinnen Williams, Alabama (So.)

Winner: Quinnen Williams, Alabama (So.)

Paycom Jim Thorpe Award

Description: Nation’s Best Defensive Back

Finalists: DeAndre Baker, Georgia (Sr.); Julian Love, Notre Dame (Jr.); Greedy Williams, LSU (So.)

Winner: DeAndre Baker, Georgia (Sr.)

Doak Walker Award

Description: Nation’s Premier Running Back

Finalists: Travis Etienne, Clemson (So.); Darrell Henderson, Memphis (So.); Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin (So.)

Winner:  Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin (So.)

The Home Depot Coach of the Year

Winner: Brian Kelly, Notre Dame

NCFAA Contributions to College Football Award

Winner: Historically Black Colleges and Universities

Disney Spirit Award

Winner: Tyler Trent, Inspirational Purdue football super fan

Walter Camp Award

Winner: Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama (So.)

Walter Camp All-America Team

Winners:  Tua Tagovailoa, Jonathan Taylor, Darrell Henderson, Jerry Jeudy, Andy Isabella, Jace Sternberger, Jonah Williams, Mitch Hyatt, Ben Powers, Beau Benzschawel, Garrett Bradbury, Christian Wilkins, Quinnen Williams, Ed Oliver, Clelin Ferrell, Josh Allen, Devin White, Devin Bush, DeAndre Baker, Greedy Williams, Julian Love, Grant Delpit, Andre Szymt, Braden Mann, Savon Scarver

These FCS players are off to stellar starts in 2019

A look at North Dakota State's Trey Lance, North Carolina A&T's Jah-Maine Martin and other players who are making a big impact on the 2019 FCS season.

FCS football rankings: Towson joins top 5; Eastern Washington plunges in poll

Towson is the big mover in the latest FCS Coaches poll thanks to a 45-23 victory over then-No. 9 Maine.

College football rankings: The DII Top 25, right now

The DII football top 25 had a very successful Week 2, going 24-1 overall. Let's breakdown the latest AFCA DII poll and see what's in store for the latest top 25.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners