football-d3 flag

Mitchell Northam | Correspondent | December 15, 2018

Mary Hardin-Baylor beats Mount Union in Stagg Bowl, captures 2018 DIII football championship

Mary Hardin-Baylor is the DIII football national champion

Mary Hardin-Baylor avenged last year’s championship game loss by beating Mount Union 24-16 to win the 2018 Division III championship.

Mount Union climbed to a 10-0 lead in the first quarter before UMHB scored twice to go up 14-13 at halftime.

Mount Union would get the ball back with 39 seconds left, down by eight, but a comeback drive fell short, ending the Purple Raiders’ 29-game winning streak, which started after a 2016 NCAA tournament loss to none other than Mary Hardin-Baylor.

The Crusaders finished the season a perfect 15-0, and captured their second Stagg Bowl title ever, the first of which came in 2016.

MORE: Stagg Bowl stats, box score for Mount Union vs. Mary Hardin-Baylor

Last season saw a 25-year run come to an end in Salem, Virginia and it concluded as it began. Mount Union won the first and last national championships in Salem Stadium, shutting out Mary Hardin-Baylor 12-0 for the 2017 title. It was the Purple Raiders 13th national championship, all of which came in Salem.

Read below for realtime updates from the championship game:

MORE: Interactive bracket | Printable bracket | Buy championship tickets

Here's when the DIII college football season starts

The 2019 DIII football season is coming, with action commencing on Thursday, September 5. Here's a look at the opening weekend schedule.

These were the best games across college sports in 2018

Another year of college sports is in the books. With 2019 just around the corner, let's take a look back at the top games in NCAA sports from 2018. 

DIII football championship: Mount Union, Mary Hardin-Baylor set for a Stagg Bowl rematch

Mount Union and Mary Hardin-Baylor are set to meet in their second straight DIII football championship. Here's what you need to know.