football-fcs flag

Anthony Chiusano | | January 7, 2019

Schools with the most FCS football national championships

NDSU Wins FCS Title

North Dakota State has been king of the decade with seven NCAA FCS national football titles in the past eight years. That's good enough to put the Bison in sole possession of first place among schools with the most all-time FCS national championships.

North Dakota State was tied with Georgia Southern (now an FBS Sun Belt member) with six FCS titles, two more than any other school in the championship's 40-year history. NDSU then earned its seventh national title in 2018 over Eastern Washington

2018 FCS CHAMP: North Dakota State football wins record seventh FCS championship over EWU

Twenty-one different schools have lifted the trophy since 1978. Here is a list of every institution to win an FCS championship, ranked in order from most titles to least.

Schools with the most NCAA FCS football championships:

School Number of titles Year(s)
North Dakota State 7 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2017, 2018
Georgia Southern 6 1985, 1986, 1989, 1990, 1999, 2000
Youngstown State 4 1991, 1993, 1994, 1997
Appalachian State 3 2005, 2006, 2007
Eastern Kentucky 2 1979, 1982
James Madison 2 2004, 2016
Marshall 2 1992, 1996
Montana 2 1984, 2001
Boise State 1 1980
Delaware 1 2003
Eastern Washington 1 2010
Florida A&M 1 1978
Furman 1 1988
Idaho State 1 1981
Louisiana-Monroe 1 1987
Massachusetts 1 1998
Montana State 1 1984
Richmond 1 2008
Southern Illinois 1 1983
Villanova 1 2009
Western Kentucky 1 2002


5 FCS football facts worth knowing:

  • Of the 21 different schools to claim at least one title, seven no longer play at the FCS level. Appalachian State, Boise State, Georgia Southern, Louisiana-Monroe, Marshall, Massachusetts and Western Kentucky are all current members of the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS).
  • Five schools have won titles in at least two consecutive seasons. North Dakota State owns the longest streak at five in a row (2011-15), followed by Appalachian State's three straight titles from 2005-07. Georgia Southern (1985-86,1989-90, 1999-00) and Youngstown State (1993-94) are the other two schools to go back to back.
  • Jim Tressel (Youngstown State) and Chris Klieman (North Dakota State) are tied for the most championship wins among head coaches in FCS history at four apiece. Klieman tied Tressel in 2018 before leaving to coach Kansas State in the FBS. Craig Bohl (North Dakota State), Jerry Moore (Appalachian State) and Erk Russell (Georgia Southern) all won three championships as head coach.
  • Georgia Southern (6-2) and North Dakota State (8-0) have the most all-time championship game appearances at eight. Youngstown State (4-3) and Montana (2-5) follow, having been to the finals seven times each.
  • Thirty-four different programs have appeared in the FCS national championship game. Only two schools — McNeese and Sam Houston State — have reached that level twice without a trophy to show for it.

RELATED: Complete FCS championship history | Future sites and dates

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners