football-fbs flag | January 14, 2020

2019-20 College Football Playoff: Schedule, dates and sites

No. 3 Clemson vs. No. 1 LSU and Heisman winner Joe Burrow

The College Football Playoff era finished its sixth edition in the 2019-20 season.

In the Peach Bowl, No. 1 LSU crushed No. 4 Oklahoma, while No. 3 Clemson scored late to beat No. 2 Ohio State. LSU then defeated Clemson to win the title.

Peach Bowl (College Football Playoff semifinal) — Dec. 28
No. 1 LSU 63, No. 4 Oklahoma 28
Mercedes-Benz Stadium
Atlanta, GA

Fiesta Bowl (College Football Playoff semifinal) — Dec. 28
No. 3 Clemson 29, No. 2 Ohio State 23
State Farm Stadium
Glendale, AZ

College Football Playoff National Championship Game) — Jan. 13, 2020
No. 1 LSU 42, No. 3 Clemson 25
Mercedes-Benz Superdome
New Orleans, LA

MORE: Clemson dominates Alabama to win last season's College Football Playoff title

When were the 2019 College Football Playoff semifinals?

The CFP semifinals were Dec. 28, 2019. One semifinal was the Peach Bowl (LSU vs. Oklahoma) from Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta. The other semifinal was the Fiesta Bowl (Ohio State vs. Clemson) in Glendale, Arizona.

RANKINGS: Latest College Football Playoff poll | AP Poll | USA TODAY Coaches' Poll

When is the 2020 College Football Playoff national championship?

The CFP national championship was a bit later in 2020. LSU and Clemson met at 8 p.m. ET in New Orleans on Jan. 13, 2020, at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome.

Below is a complete history of the College Football Playoff national championship game.

Year Game
2015 No. 4 Ohio State 42, No. 2 Oregon 20
2016 No. 2 Alabama 45, No. 1 Clemson 40
2017 No. 2 Clemson 35, No. 1 Alabama 31
2018 No. 4 Alabama 26, No. 3 Georgia 23
2019 No. 2 Clemson 44, No. 1 Alabama 16
2020 No. 1 LSU 42, No. 3 Clemson 25

2021-2024 CFP national championship locations and dates

2021:     Miami-South Florida (Hard Rock Stadium, Miami Gardens, Florida) - Jan. 11
2022:     Indianapolis (Lucas Oil Stadium, Indianapolis, Indiana) - Jan. 10
2023:     Los Angeles (Los Angeles Stadium at Hollywood Park, Inglewood, California) - Jan. 9
2024:     Houston (NRG Stadium, Houston, Texas) - Jan. 8

RELATED: Complete college football championship history | Schools with the most titles

College football's 9 winningest teams

Here are the nine winningest college football programs in the history of the sport.

College football rankings: Preseason Top 25 for the 2020 season

Here's an early look at a preseason Top 25 college football rankings for 2020. Clemson, Ohio State and Alabama are again contenders.

Australia to Brown: Meet Heather Marini, the first female position coach in DI football

Heather Marini coached football for nearly a decade before ever taking a snap. After playing a season in a women's league in Australia, then interning with the New York Jets, she's now the quarterbacks coach at Brown.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners