football-fcs flag

Stan Becton | | November 20, 2021

Here are the FCS Playoff automatic bid scenarios for every conference

Every touchdown from the FCS quarterfinals

With one week of regular-season FCS football remaining, it's a great time to get ready for the playoffs. 11 conferences receive automatic bids for the 2021 Playoffs. Here we will break down the scenarios for each team still alive in its conference championship race.

Before we start, remember that the Ivy League, MEAC and the SWAC conference champions do not participate in the FCS Playoffs. As a result, those leagues don't get automatic bids and the leagues aren't featured in this article.

For conferences with four or more teams still in contention for an automatic bid, the teams will be listed with conference records and head-to-head wins amongst teams still in contention. Automatic bid scenarios will come once three or fewer teams remain in contention.

AUTO-BID TRACKER: Track every automatic bid here

Here are the automatic bid scenarios for every FCS conference as of Nov. 14.

As the season progresses, the automatic bid scenarios will update in response to game results and new conference leaders.


Sam Houston

Sam Houston has won the AQ7's automatic bid.

🔮: Predicting FCS football's 14 conference champions

Big Sky

Sacramento State

Sacramento State has won the Big Sky's automatic bid.

Big South

Kennesaw State

Kennesaw State has won the Big South's automatic bid.

MUST-WATCH: 6 games to watch heading into FCS football’s final month



Villanova has won the CAA's automatic bid.


North Dakota State

North Dakota State has won the MVFC's automatic bid.

THE DAKOTA MARKER: Here's what you need to know about North Dakota State vs. South Dakota State


Sacred Heart

Sacred Heart has won the NEC's automatic bid.


UT Martin

UT Martin has won the OVC's automatic bid.

BRACKETOLOGY: Predicting the 2021 FCS Playoff bracket, about one month ahead of selections


Holy Cross

Holy Cross has won the Patriot League's automatic bid.



Davidson has won the Pioneer Football Leagues's automatic bid.

RECORDS: Here are the FCS single-season records on the line entering November



ETSU has won the SoCon's automatic bid.



UIW has won the Southland's automatic bid.

FCS football: We picked the top-5 players of all time for Montana football

The Montana football program has won two FCS championships (1995 and 2001) and has finished as runner-up five times (1996, 2000, 2004, 2008 and 2009) in its history. The Grizzlies had 25 straight winning seasons from 1986-2011, producing transcendent players along the way. Here's a look at the top individual players in Montana history.

A way-too-early look at the 2022 DII football preseason Power 10 rankings

Spring practices are nearing in DII football. Let's take an early look at what the top-10 teams may look like come August.

FCS football: We picked the top-5 players all-time for Eastern Washington football

Eastern Washington football has a storied history filled with accolades, including the 2010 FCS national championship and an FCS-leading seven major national award winners. With such success from the Eagle program, here's a look at the top individual players in Eastern Washington history.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners