football-fcs flag

Stan Becton | | November 20, 2021

We're tracking automatic bids for the 2021 FCS playoffs

Sam Houston defeats South Dakota State 23-21 to win first FCS title

We're a day away from the 2021 FCS playoffs selection show. We’ve tracked all of the action as the 11 automatic bids for the playoffs have been filled and the 24-team field is beginning to take shape.

Eleven conference champions automatically qualify for this year's playoffs. An additional 13 teams earn at-large bids selected by the FCS Playoff Committee. The complete 24-team bracket will be selected on Sunday, Nov. 21, 2021. The selection show is scheduled for ESPNU at 12:30 p.m. ET.

The FCS Playoffs conclude with the national championship in Frisco, Texas on Saturday, Jan. 8, 2022.

See the winner of each conferences automatic bid below. 

Conference Team
AQ7 Sam Houston
Big Sky Sacramento State
Big South Kennesaw State
CAA Villanova
MVFC North Dakota State
NEC Sacred Heart
OVC UT Martin
Patriot Holy Cross
Pioneer Davidson
Southland UIW

HBCU football championship history

Here is the history of every HBCU conference championship across FCS and DII levels.

Ja'Marr Chase's LSU career: College football stats, highlights, records

Here's everything you need to know about Cincinnati Bengals wide receiver Ja'Marr Chase's college career.

2022 Senior Bowl: Rosters, colleges, game time, TV channel

Here's a look at the roster and colleges for the 2022 Senior Bowl. The game will feature many top college football players in the annual all-star game.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners