football-fcs flag

Stan Becton | | November 20, 2021

We're tracking automatic bids for the 2021 FCS playoffs

Sam Houston defeats South Dakota State 23-21 to win first FCS title

We're a day away from the 2021 FCS playoffs selection show. We’ve tracked all of the action as the 11 automatic bids for the playoffs have been filled and the 24-team field is beginning to take shape.

Eleven conference champions automatically qualify for this year's playoffs. An additional 13 teams earn at-large bids selected by the FCS Playoff Committee. The complete 24-team bracket will be selected on Sunday, Nov. 21, 2021. The selection show is scheduled for ESPNU at 12:30 p.m. ET.

The FCS Playoffs conclude with the national championship in Frisco, Texas on Saturday, Jan. 8, 2022.

See the winner of each conferences automatic bid below. 

Conference Team
AQ7 Sam Houston
Big Sky Sacramento State
Big South Kennesaw State
CAA Villanova
MVFC North Dakota State
NEC Sacred Heart
OVC UT Martin
Patriot Holy Cross
Pioneer Davidson
Southland UIW

FCS football awards: Breaking down the 2021 FCS Jerry Rice Award finalists

The 2021 FCS Award finalists have been named, with 23 players making the final cut for the Jerry Rice Award, given to most outstanding freshman. Before the announcement of the winner of the 2021 Jerry Rice Award, take a look at 10 notable finalists and their case for hoisting the trophy.

No. 3 Alabama rallies to defeat Auburn in quadruple overtime

No. 3 Alabama rallied to defeat rival Auburn in four overtimes on Saturday night.

Michigan finally wins 'The Game,' Alabama wins in quadruple overtime and more takeaways from Week 13

Michigan will play in the Big Ten Championship for the first time, Auburn knocked off rival Alabama and more takeaways from Week 13.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners