football-fcs flag

Stan Becton | | January 29, 2022

Buck Buchanan Award: Complete history of the FCS defensive honor

North Dakota State's football dynasty

The Buck Buchanan Award is given each year to the most outstanding defensive player in FCS football. Florida A&M linebacker Isaiah Land won the 2021 award on the day before the FCS championship game.

Here's everything you need to know about the annual honor, presented by Stats Perform FCS.

MORE: Walter Payton Award history | Jerry Rice Award history

FCS Buck Buchanan Award: What is it and who is it named after?

The Buck Buchanan Award debuted in 1995 to honor the most outstanding defensive player in the Football Championship Subdivision.

A national panel of more than 150 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries vote on the award's winner, based on players' regular-season performances. Voting is conducted before the start of FCS playoffs.

The Buck Buchanan Award is one of five national awards announced by STATS FCS:

  • Walter Payton Award (FCS offensive player of the year)
  • Buck Buchanan Award (FCS defensive player of the year)
  • Jerry Rice Award (FCS freshman of the year)
  • Eddie Robinson Award (FCS coach of the year)
  • Doris Robinson Scholar-Athlete of the Year

The defensive player of the year award's namesake, Junious “Buck” Buchanan, was an AFL and NFL legend with the Dallas Texans and Kansas City Chiefs, earning eight-straight AFL All-Star and NFL Pro Bowl trips, two AFL Championships, and a Super Bowl IV ring. The 1963 first-overall pick began his journey at FCS program Grambling State from 1959-1962.

Buchanan, an All-American defensive tackle, measured in at 6’7’’ and 280 pounds. After joining Grambling State on an “if” scholarship, Buchanan quickly became one of the best players in Grambling State history. He is a member of both the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio and the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, Georgia.

Southeast Mo. State Athletics Zach Hall Buck Buchanan Southeast Missouri State LB Zach Hall won the 2018 Buck Buchanan Award

FCS Buck Buchanan Award: When is the winner announced?

The Buck Buchanan Award winner is revealed annually at the STATS FCS Awards Banquet and Presentation the night before the FCS championship game in Frisco, Texas. The 2021 recipient was announced Friday, Jan. 7, 2022, in a broadcast show. 

All five STATS FCS national honors are celebrated at the banquet, though the Jerry Rice, Eddie Robinson and Doris Robinson winners are all announced ahead of time. The Payton and Buchanan award winners are revealed for the first time as part of the ceremony.

FCS HISTORY: The 9 all-time winningest FCS programs | 7 of the most unbreakable FCS records

The first 35-man Buck Buchanan Award watch list is released in the preseason by STATS FCS. The list has updated periodically throughout the regular season, culminating in the invitation of finalists to attend the banquet.

FCS Buck Buchanan Award: Complete history of past recipients

Florida A&M linebacker Isaiah Land is the 27th recipient of the Buck Buchanan Award after beating out fellow finalists Troy Andersen (Montana State) and Patrick O'Connell (Montana). Land led the FCS in sacks (19), tackles for loss (25.5) and sacks per game (1.58).

Linebackers have accounted for a position-best 14 winners since the award debuted in 1995. 11 defensive ends, one defensive tackles, and one cornerback have also been honored. Cal Poly and Montana lead all schools with three winners apiece.

Only one player has lifted the hardware in consecutive years: Appalachian State standout linebacker Dexter Coakley won in 1995 and '96, the first two seasons of the award’s history.

FCS CHAMPIONSHIP: How the FCS playoffs work | Schools with most titles | Full championship history

Other notable past honorees include eventual NFL stars Jared Allen (Idaho State, 2003) and Rashean Mathis (Bethune-Cookman, 2002). See the full list below.

FCS Buck Buchanan Award winners (1995-2021):

2021 Isaiah Land, Florida A&M Linebacker
2020 Jordan Lewis, Southern Defensive End
2019 Dante Olson, Montana Linebacker
2018 Zach Hall, Southeast Missouri State Linebacker
2017 Darius Jackson, Jacksonville State Defensive End
2016 Karter Schult, Northern Iowa Defensive End
2015* Tyrone Holmes, Montana Linebacker
2015 Deon King, Norfolk State Linebacker
2014 Kyle Emanuel, North Dakota State Defensive End
2013 Brad Daly, Montana State Defensive End
2012 Caleb Schreibeis, Montana State Defensive End
2011 Matt Evans, New Hampshire Linebacker
2010 J.C. Sherritt, Eastern Washington Linebacker
2009 Arthur Moats, James Madison Defensive End
2008 Greg Peach, Eastern Washington Defensive End
2007 Kroy Biermann, Montana Defensive End
2006 Kyle Shotwell, Cal Poly Linebacker
2005 Chris Gocong, Cal Poly Defensive End
2004 Jordan Beck, Cal Poly Linebacker
2003 Jared Allen, Idaho State Defensive End
2002 Rashean Mathis, Bethune-Cookman Cornerback
2001 Derrick Lloyd, James Madison Linebacker
2000 Edgerton Hartwell, Western Illinois Linebacker
1999 Al Lucas, Troy State Defensive Tackle
1998 James Milton, Western Illinois Linebacker
1997 Chris McNeil, North Carolina A&T Defensive End
1996 Dexter Coakley, Appalachian State Linebacker
1995 Dexter Coakley, Appalachian State Linebacker
*-Stats Perform FCS Defensive Player of the Year

College football teams with the most national championships

These are the college football teams with the most national championships since 1869.

Here's every 2022 HBCU football classic in the FCS

In HBCU football, a "classic" matchup has been a premier event for decades. Here is every HBCU classic scheduled for 2022.

2022 Celebration Bowl: Date, time, location, tv channel, history

Here's the what you need to know for the 2022 Celebration Bowl in Atlanta, including a list of past Celebration Bowl champions and how teams qualify for the postseason game.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners