football-fcs flag

Stan Becton | | November 12, 2022

2022 Celebration Bowl: Date, time, location, tv channel, history

Celebration Bowl MVP Shaq Davis discusses South Carolina State's victory over Jackson State

Since 2015, the MEAC and SWAC conference champions face off in a postseason football clash known as the Celebration Bowl. The Celebration Bowl celebrates great football and HBCU tradition on a national stage.

Here's a quick guide to the 2022 Celebration Bowl, including the schedule, TV network and how teams are selected:

When is the 2022 Celebration Bowl?

The 2022 Celebration Bowl is on Saturday, Dec. 17, 2022. It will feature the conference champion from the MEAC and the SWAC. The title game will air at 12 p.m. ET on ABC.

Who is playing in the 2022 Celebration Bowl?

North Carolina Central will represent the MEAC in the 2022 Celebration Bowl. The SWAC representative is TBD.

Where is the 2022 Celebration Bowl?

The 2022 Celebration Bowl will be played at the Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta, Georgia. It will be the fifth time the 2022 Celebration Bowl has been played in the Mercedes-Benz Stadium and the seventh time in Atlanta.

How are Celebration Bowl teams selected?

The winner of the SWAC championship game gets one bid to the Celebration Bowl and the MEAC regular-season champion gets the other. In the event of co-champions in the MEAC, tiebreaker procedures are used to determine who receives the Celebration Bowl berth.

What are the current HBCU football standings?

Click or tap here to view the latest HBCU football standings, which will be updated throughout the season.

Celebration Bowl history

Here's the list of all-time Celebration Bowl champions. The MEAC leads the SWAC in the all-time series 5-1. North Carolina A&T has the most Celebration Bowl victories with four.

2021 South Carolina State (MEAC) 31-10 Jackson State (SWAC) Mercedes-Benz Stadium,
Atlanta GA
2019 North Carolina A&T (MEAC) 64-44 Alcorn State (SWAC) Mercedes-Benz Stadium,
Atlanta GA
2018 North Carolina A&T (MEAC) 24-22 Alcorn State (SWAC) Mercedes-Benz Stadium,
Atlanta GA
2017 North Carolina A&T (MEAC) 21-14 Grambling State (SWAC) Mercedes-Benz Stadium,
Atlanta GA
2016 Grambling State (SWAC) 10-9 North Carolina Central (MEAC) Georgia Dome,
Atlanta GA
2015 North Carolina A&T (MEAC) 41-34 Alcorn State (SWAC) Georgia Dome,
Atlanta GA

🏆: HBCU football championship history

College Football Playoff to expand to 12 teams starting in 2024 season

The College Football Playoff will expand to 12 teams, made up of six conference champions ranked highest by the CFP and the six highest-ranked teams not among the conference champions.

Finalists announced for the 2022 DII football Harlon Hill Trophy

Regional finalists for the 2022 recipient of the Harlon Hill Trophy were announced on Thursday, December 1. The winner of the 2022 Harlon Hill Trophy will be announced on Friday, December 16.

2022 SEC Championship Game: Date, time, history

Here's the quick guide to the 2022 SEC Championship Game, which features LSU and Georgia at 4 p.m. ET on Saturday, Dec. 3, 2022, on CBS.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners