football-d2 flag | November 13, 2022

Teams announced for 2022 NCAA Division II football championship

DII football: 2022 selection show

INDIANAPOLIS--The NCAA Division II Football Committee announced today the field of 28 teams for the 2022 NCAA Division II Football Championship.  

Twelve first-round games will be conducted on the campus of one of the competing institutions. In addition, one team per super regional has earned a first-round bye. The first-round winners will all advance to the second round with games on the campus of one of the competing institutions. Second- round winners will meet in the quarterfinals at various campus sites. Quarterfinal winners will advance to play in the semifinals on the campus of one of the competing institutions. Seven teams selected per super regional make up the field of 28 teams.

The first-round dates, sites and pairings are:

November 19 at Ashland, Ohio
Notre Dame (Ohio) (9-2) at Ashland (9-1)

November 19 at Shepherdstown, West Virginia
New Haven (8-2) at Shepherd (10-1)
November 19 at Worcester, Massachusetts
Slippery Rock (9-2) at Assumption (8-2)
November 19 at Richmond, Virginia
Wingate (9-2) at Virginia Union (9-1)
November 19 at Cleveland, Mississippi
Fayetteville State (9-2) at Delta State (10-1)
November 19 at Pensacola, Florida
Limestone (8-3) at West Florida (9-1)
November 19 at Arkadelphia, Arkansas
Northwest Missouri State (9-2) at Ouachita Baptist (11-0)
November 19 at Big Rapids, Michigan
Davenport (8-2) at Ferris State (9-1)
November 19 at Pittsburg, Kansas
UIndy (9-1) at Pittsburg. State (11-0)
November 19 at Bemidji, Minnesota
Winona State (8-3) at Bemidji State (9-2)
November 19 at Golden, Colorado
Colorado State University Pueblo (8-3) at Colorado School of Mines (9-2)
November 19 at Mankato, Minnesota
Wayne State (Nebraska) (9-2) at Minnesota State Mankato (9-2)
The following institutions earned first-round byes in each super regional and will host a second-round game on November 26, 2022.
Super Regional One:
1. Indiana (PA) (9-1)
Super Regional Two:
1. Benedict (11-0)
Super Regional Three:
1. Grand Valley State (11-0)

Super Regional Four:
1. Angelo State (11-0)

All contests shall start at 1 p.m. local time. Other times may be established if approved by the committee.

Ferris State defeated Valdosta State 58-17 in the 2021 national championship game to claim the NCAA title.

The championship game will be played December 17, at 1 p.m. Eastern time at McKinney ISD Stadium in McKinney, Texas and will be broadcast live on ESPNU HD.

Super Region One

Super Region Two

Super Region Three

Super Region Four

2022 FCS playoffs: What every road quarterfinal team needs to prove to advance

The four lowest-seeded teams are on the road in the quarterfinals, entering hostile environments in search of a playoff win. Here's what each team will need to prove to advance to the next round.

The top 5 plays from Gevani McCoy’s Jerry Rice Award season

Idaho quarterback Gevani McCoy was named the 2022 Jerry Rice Award winner as the best freshman in FCS football. Here are the top plays from his freshman season.

Jerry Rice Award: Complete history of the FCS freshman honor

The Jerry Rice Award is given annually to the most outstanding freshman player in the FCS. Here's what to know about the subdivision's highest honor.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners