football-fcs flag

Stan Becton | | November 15, 2022

The importance of a top seed in the FCS playoffs, explained

Christian Watson: 2022 NFL Draft prospect's top FCS playoff highlights

Twenty-four teams make the FCS playoffs every year, but only eight teams receive a seed and a first-round bye. While getting a seed is an advantage by itself, there's a bigger advantage that comes with the seeds. Here's why getting a top-two seed in the FCS playoffs is important.

Why a top-two seed?

Every seed in the FCS playoffs is guaranteed to host a second-round game, thanks to a first-round bye. After the second round, the team with the best seed hosts every game until a neutral site contest for the FCS championship.

With four seeded teams split on each side of the bracket, the No. 1 and No. 2 seeds get home-field advantage throughout the playoffs.

More than home-field advantage

Home-field advantage alone is nice, but a top-two seed getting home-field advantage means nothing if the team doesn't win at home.

Yet, in the case of the FCS playoffs, home-field advantage just means more. The No. 1 and No. 2 seeds in the FCS playoffs have had immense success at home in recent years.

Nine of the last 10 FCS championship game participants have only played home games through the FCS semifinal round. If you stretch that number out to 2015, it still becomes 11 out of 14. Only one year during that span, 2016, had two teams that didn't play only home games during the playoffs.

No. 1 and No. 2 seeds made up nine of the possible 14 national championship participants over the last seven years. Two No. 3 seeds — 2018 Eastern Washington and 2015 North Dakota State — had home-field advantage and advanced to the FCS semifinals.

Year Team Seed FCS playoff finish
2021 North Dakota State No. 2 National Champion
  Sam Houston No. 1 Quarterfinals
2020-21 Sam Houston No. 2 National Champion
  South Dakota State No. 1 Runner-up
2019 North Dakota State No. 1 National Champion
  James Madison No. 2 Runner-up
2018 North Dakota State No. 1 National Champion
  Weber State No. 2 Quarterfinals
  Eastern Washington* No. 3 Runner-up
2017 North Dakota State No. 2 National Champion
  James Madison No. 1 Runner-up
2016 North Dakota State No. 1 Semifinals
  Eastern Washington No. 2 Semifinals
2015 North Dakota State* No. 3 National Champion
  Jacksonville State No. 1 Runner-up
  Illinois State No. 2 Quarterfinals

*Eastern Washington and North Dakota State played only home games as a No. 3 seed thanks to quarterfinal losses from the No. 2 seed.

Top-two seed = Championship?

Since the FCS playoffs expanded in 2013, adding eight seeds, a team that only played on its home field in the playoffs has won eight of nine FCS Championships. Seven of those eight were No. 1 or No. 2 seeds.

While the games must play out on the field, there's no denying the correlation between a top-two seed and FCS playoff success.

College Football Playoff to expand to 12 teams starting in 2024 season

The College Football Playoff will expand to 12 teams, made up of six conference champions ranked highest by the CFP and the six highest-ranked teams not among the conference champions.

Finalists announced for the 2022 DII football Harlon Hill Trophy

Regional finalists for the 2022 recipient of the Harlon Hill Trophy were announced on Thursday, December 1. The winner of the 2022 Harlon Hill Trophy will be announced on Friday, December 16.

2022 SEC Championship Game: Date, time, history

Here's the quick guide to the 2022 SEC Championship Game, which features LSU and Georgia at 4 p.m. ET on Saturday, Dec. 3, 2022, on CBS.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners