football-fcs flag

Stan Becton | | November 20, 2022

Every automatic qualifying bid for the 2022 FCS playoffs

Watch the full 2022 FCS football playoff bracket reveal

The 2022 FCS playoffs are approaching and all 11 automatic bids for the playoffs have been clinched. 

Eleven teams automatically qualify for this year's playoffs via conference affiliation. An additional 13 teams earn at-large bids selected by the FCS Playoff Committee. The complete 24-team bracket will be announced at 12:30 p.m. ET on Sunday, Nov. 20, on ESPNU. The FCS Playoffs conclude with the national championship in Frisco, Texas on Sunday, Jan. 8, 2023.

See the winner of each conference's automatic bid below. 

ASUN-WAC Eastern Kentucky
Big Sky Sacramento State
Big South Gardner-Webb
CAA William & Mary
MVFC South Dakota State
NEC Saint Francis (PA)
Patriot Holy Cross
Pioneer* Davidson
SoCon Samford
Southland Southeastern Louisiana

*St. Thomas won the Pioneer Football League title but is ineligible for the postseason.

Quinnipiac, Holy Cross women's hockey each come up big at Frozen Fenway

Frozen Fenway returned with a women's hockey doubleheader on Friday as No. 3 Quinnipiac defeated Harvard before Holy Cross downed Boston University.

2022 FCS playoffs: What every road quarterfinal team needs to prove to advance

The four lowest-seeded teams are on the road in the quarterfinals, entering hostile environments in search of a playoff win. Here's what each team will need to prove to advance to the next round.

Re-ranking 8 FCS teams before the 2022 playoff quarterfinals

South Dakota State and Montana State lead Stan Becton's re-rankings of the eight teams left in the 2022 FCS playoffs.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners