football-fcs flag

Stan Becton | | November 20, 2022

2022 FCS championship: Bracket, date, time, location, TV channel, history

Watch the full 2022 FCS football playoff bracket reveal

One hundred thirty NCAA member institutions sponsor Division I Football Championship Subdivision teams. Those teams compete each season to make it into the 24-team playoff and the FCS National Championship game in Frisco, Texas.

Here's a quick guide to the 2022 FCS Championship, including the schedule, TV network and format for the postseason:

How can I be updated on the 2022 FCS Championship?

We're providing coverage of the FCS playoffs from start to finish, including the selection show and leading up to the 2022 FCS Championship game on


When is the 2022 FCS Championship Game?

The 2022 FCS Championship Game date is Sunday, January 8 at 2 p.m. ET. It will feature the winning team from each semifinal. The title game is scheduled to air on the ABC. 

MORE: ABC to broadcast 2022 FCS championship game from Frisco

Where is the FCS Championship Game?

The FCS Championship Game will be played in Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas. It will be the 10th time the FCS Championship Game has been played in Toyota Stadium and the 13th time in Frisco.

How are FCS playoff teams selected?

The NCAA Division I Football Championship provides a field of 24 teams to compete in a single-elimination tournament. Of the 24 teams, conference champions will receive automatic qualifications with the remaining best teams being selected on an at-large basis by the Division I Football Championship Committee.

The top eight teams in the 24-team bracket for the championship are seeded and receive first-round byes.

Team pairings are determined according to geographical proximity. Teams from the same conference will not be paired for first-round games or for second-round games when both teams are playing their first games of the championship (except for teams from the same conference that did not play against each other during the regular season; such teams may play each other in the first and second round).

2022 FCS bracket

BRACKET: See the complete 2022 FCS playoff bracket

When are FCS playoff teams selected?

Teams for the FCS playoffs will be selected on Sunday, Nov. 20, 2022. The selection show is scheduled to air Sunday, Nov. 20 at 12:30 p.m. ET on ESPNU. 

Click or tap here for more selection show updates

What are the current FCS rankings?

Click or tap here to view the latest FCS rankings, which will be updated throughout the season.

Who are the past FCS champions?

Here are the previous winners of the FCS Championship Game, which started in the 1978 season.

2021 North Dakota State Matt Entz 38-10 Montana State Frisco, Texas
2020 Sam Houston K.C. Keeler 23-21 South Dakota State Frisco, Texas
2019 North Dakota State Matt Entz 28-20 James Madison Frisco, Texas
2018 North Dakota State Chris Klieman 38-24 Eastern Washington Frisco, Texas
2017 North Dakota State Chris Klieman 17-13 James Madison Frisco, Texas
2016 James Madison Mike Houston 28-14 Youngstown State Frisco, Texas
2015 North Dakota State Chris Klieman 37-10 Jacksonville State Frisco, Texas
2014 North Dakota State Chris Klieman 29-27 Illinois State Frisco, Texas
2013 North Dakota State Craig Bohl 35-7 Towson Frisco, Texas
2012 North Dakota State Craig Bohl 39-13 Sam Houston State Frisco, Texas
2011 North Dakota State Craig Bohl 17-6 Sam Houston State Frisco, Texas
2010 Eastern Washington Beau Baldwin 20-19 Delaware Frisco, Texas
2009 Villanova Andy Talley 23-21 Montana Chattanooga, Tenn.
2008 Richmond Mike London 24-7 Montana Chattanooga, Tenn.
2007 Appalachian State Jerry Moore 49-21 Delaware Chattanooga, Tenn.
2006 Appalachian State Jerry Moore 28-17 Massachusetts Chattanooga, Tenn.
2005 Appalachian State Jerry Moore 21-16 UNI Chattanooga, Tenn.
2004 James Madison Mickey Matthews 31-21 Montana Chattanooga, Tenn.
2003 Delaware K.C. Keeler 40-0 Colgate Chattanooga, Tenn.
2002 Western Kentucky Jack Harbaugh 34-14 McNeese State Chattanooga, Tenn.
2001 Montana Joe Glenn 13-6 Furman Chattanooga, Tenn.
2000 Georgia Southern Paul Johnson 27-25 Montana Chattanooga, Tenn.
1999 Georgia Southern Paul Johnson 59-24 Youngstown State Chattanooga, Tenn.
1998 Massachusetts Mark Whipple 55-43 Georgia Southern Chattanooga, Tenn.
1997 Youngstown State Jim Tressel 10-9 McNeese State Chattanooga, Tenn.
1996 Marshall Bob Pruett 49-29 Montana Huntington, W.Va.
1995 Montana Don Read 22-20 Marshall Huntington, W.Va.
1994 Youngstown State Jim Tressel 28-14 Boise State Huntington, W.Va.
1993 Youngstown State Jim Tressel 17-5 Marshall Huntington, W.Va.
1992 Marshall Jim Donnan 31-28 Youngstown State Huntington, W.Va.
1991 Youngstown State Jim Tressel 25-17 Marshall Statesboro, Ga.
1990 Georgia Southern Tim Stowers 36-13 Nevada Statesboro, Ga.
1989 Georgia Southern Erk Russell 37-34 Stephen F. Austin * Statesboro, Ga.
1988 Furman Jimmy Satterfield 17-12 Georgia Southern Pocatello, Idaho
1987 Louisiana-Monroe Pat Collins 43-42 Marshall Pocatello, Idaho
1986 Georgia Southern Erk Russell 48-21 Arkansas State Tacoma, Wash.
1985 Georgia Southern Erk Russell 44-42 Furman Tacoma, Wash.
1984 Montana State Dave Arnold 19-6 Louisiana Tech Charleston, S.C.
1983 Southern Illinois Rey Dempsey 43-7 Western Carolina Charleston, S.C.
1982 Eastern Kentucky Roy Kidd 17-14 Delaware Wichita Falls, Texas
1981 Idaho State Dave Kragthorpe 34-23 Eastern Kentucky Wichita Falls, Texas
1980 Boise State Jim Criner 31-29 Eastern Kentucky Sacramento, Calif.
1979 Eastern Kentucky Roy Kidd 30-7 Lehigh Orlando, Fla.
1978 Florida A&M Rudy Hubbard 35-28 Massachusetts Wichita Falls, Texas

* -- Stephen F. Austin's participation in 1989 championship vacated.

2022 SEC Championship Game: Date, time, history

Here's the quick guide to the 2022 SEC Championship Game, which features LSU and Georgia at 4 p.m. ET on Saturday, Dec. 3, 2022, on CBS.

FCS football games: Previewing Southern vs. Jackson State in the 2022 SWAC football championship

SWAC West champion Southern will visit SWAC East champion Jackson State with a conference title and a Celebration Bowl berth on the line.

2022 Big Ten Football Championship: Schedule, history, how to watch Michigan vs. Purdue

Michigan and Purdue will play the 2022 Big Ten football conference championship game at 8 p.m. ET on Saturday, Dec. 3, in Indianapolis.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners