football-fbs flag

Wayne Staats | | December 4, 2022

Undefeated FBS college football teams in 2022

These are the biggest stadiums in college football

We started with 131 college football teams hoping to go undefeated this FBS season. We're down to only two unbeaten teams. What was a long list is now an exclusive list that keeps on shrinking.

Here's a look at all the remaining unbeaten FBS teams this season. Teams are listed in order by College Football Playoff rankings.

Undefeated FBS college football teams in 2022

No. 1 Georgia

Record: 13-0 (9-0 SEC)
Last game: def. LSU, 50-30 (SEC Championship)
Next game: TBA
Last undefeated season: 1980 (12-0, won national title)

Georgia finished 12-0 for a second straight regular season, and then won its first SEC title since 2017 with a 50-30 win over LSU in Atlanta. The defending champion Bulldogs impressed with then-No. 1 Tennessee in town in its biggest game of the season back on Nov. 5, controlling the Vols in a 27-13 win. 

RANKINGS: Check out the latest top 25 polls

No. 2 Michigan

Record: 13-0 (9-0 Big Ten)
Last game: def. Purdue, 43-22 (Big Ten Championship)
Next game: TBA
Last undefeated season: 1997 (12-0, won AP national title)

Michigan is Big Ten champion for the second straight season, after routing Purdue in Indianapolis. This comes a week after beating rival Ohio State for a second consecutive year, running all over the Buckeyes en route to a 45-23 win. 

FOOTBALL GUIDE: Notable firsts and milestones in CFB history | National champs history

2022 FCS playoffs: What every road quarterfinal team needs to prove to advance

The four lowest-seeded teams are on the road in the quarterfinals, entering hostile environments in search of a playoff win. Here's what each team will need to prove to advance to the next round.

The top 5 plays from Gevani McCoy’s Jerry Rice Award season

Idaho quarterback Gevani McCoy was named the 2022 Jerry Rice Award winner as the best freshman in FCS football. Here are the top plays from his freshman season.

Jerry Rice Award: Complete history of the FCS freshman honor

The Jerry Rice Award is given annually to the most outstanding freshman player in the FCS. Here's what to know about the subdivision's highest honor.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners