May 4, 2009



INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Committee has selected the teams and individuals to participate in the 2009 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships.

The championships will be conducted May 26-30 at the Inverness Club in Toledo, Ohio.  The University of Toledo is the host institution for this year’s championships.

Six 54-hole regional tournaments will be conducted May 14-16.  Thirteen teams and ten individuals not on those teams will compete at each of three regionals while the other three regionals will have 14 teams and five individuals not on those teams.  The low five teamfs and the low individual not on those teams will advance to the finals from each regional.

Listed below are the teams and individuals selected to participate in the championships.  Teams winning automatic qualification are designated by their conferences in parentheses.

Galloway National Golf Club – Galloway, New Jersey
Hosted by Columbia University

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1.    Clemson
2.    Alabama
3.    Illinois (Big Ten Conference)
4.    Tennessee
5.    Wake Forest
6.    Colorado State
7.    Kent State (Mid-American Conference)
8.    Coastal Carolina (Big South Conference)
9.    Virginia
10.    Penn State
11.    Minnesota
12.    VCU (Colonial Athletic Association)
13.    Columbia (Ivy Group)
14.    Sacred Heart (Northeast Conference)

1.    Kevin O’Connell, North Carolina
2.    Dan Woltman, Wisconsin
3.    Robert Karlsson, Liberty
4.    Peter Williamson, Dartmouth
5.    Eric Hawerchak, Central Connecticut

University of Texas Golf Club – Austin, Texas
Hosted by the University of Texas

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1.    Stanford
2.    Florida
3.    Texas Tech
4.    Texas    
5.    UNLV
6.    California
7.    Lamar (Southland Conference)
8.    Michigan
9.    Texas-Arlington
10.    Virginia Tech
11.    Mississippi State
12.    New Mexico State (Western Athletic Conference)
13.    Jackson State (Southwestern Athletic Conference)

1.    Glenn Northcutt, Auburn
2.    Ken Looper, New Orleans
3.    Cole Moreland, Auburn
4.    Adam Cornelson, New Orleans
5.    Cedric Scotto, Southeastern Louisiana
6.    Jeff Gerlich, Texas State
7.    Matthew Carvell, Southeastern Louisiana
8.    Corey Roberson, Texas State
9.    Fergal Rafferty, Sam Houston
10.    Gonzalo Berlin, Jacksonville State

Lake Merced Golf Club – Daly City, California
Hosted by the University of San Francisco

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1.    Southern California
2.    Texas A&M
3.    Arizona State
4.    San Diego State
5.    UC Davis (Big West Conference)
6.    Oregon
7.    New Mexico
8.    Colorado
9.    UC Irvine
10.    Kansas State
11.    Oregon State
12.    San Diego
13.    San Francisco (West Coast Conference)

1.    Grant Doverspike, Fresno State
2.    Brady Johnson, Brigham Young
3.    Nick Delio, Cal State Northridge
4.    Scott Smith, Nevada
5.    Geoff Gonzalez, Cal Poly
6.    Robbie Fillmore, Brigham Young
7.    Mark Hubbard, San Jose State
8.    Kevin Tucker, Washington State
9.    Bhavik Patel, Fresno State
10.    Greg Moss, Loyola Marymount

RedTail Golf Club – Sorrento, Florida
Hosted by the University of Central Florida and the Central Florida Sports Commission

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1.    Georgia (Southeastern Conference)
2.    Indiana
3.    South Carolina
4.    Central Florida (Conference USA)
5.    Florida State
6.    Arizona
7.    Augusta State
8.    Kentucky
9.    Georgia Southern
10.    Georgia State
11.    Iowa
12.    Charlotte (Atlantic 10 Conference)
13.    Campbell (Atlantic Sun Conference)
14.    Loyola (Maryland) (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)

1.    Zach Sucher, UAB
2.    M. Etienne Bussierres, South Alabama
3.    Josh Brock, North Carolina-Wilmington
4.    Bill Jones III, Mercer
5.    Kelly McHugh, Florida Atlantic

The Club at Olde Stone – Bowling Green, Kentucky
Hosted by Western Kentucky University

1.    Washington (Pacific-10 Conference)
2.    Georgia Tech (Atlantic Coast Conference)
3.    North Carolina State
4.    UCLA
5.    Mississippi
6.    East Tennessee State
7.    Duke
8.    Louisville (Big East Conference)
9.    Ohio State
10.    Vanderbilt
11.    Middle Tennessee (Sun Belt Conference)
12.    Austin Peay State (Ohio Valley Conference)
13.    Cleveland State (Horizon League)
14.    Bucknell (The Patriot League)

1.    Mike Van Sickle, Marquette
2.    Sebastian MacLean, Xavier
3.    Trey Bowling, Eastern Kentucky
4.    Tyler Duncan, Purdue
5.    John Montgomery, Alabama State

Karsten Creek Golf Club – Stillwater, Oklahoma
Hosted by Oklahoma State University
1.    Oklahoma State (Big 12 Conference)
2.    Arkansas
3.    TCU (Mountain West Conference)
4.    LSU
5.    Chattanooga (Southern Conference)
6.    Pepperdine
7.    Michigan State
8.    Baylor
9.    Northwestern
10.    Tulsa
11.    Denver
12.    Wichita State (Missouri Valley Conference)
13.    Oral Roberts (The Summit League)

1.    Trent Peterson, South Dakota State
2.    Peter Malnati, Missouri
3.    Tom Whitney, Air Force
4.    Kelly Kraft, SMU
5.    Eric Onesi, Old Dominion
6.    Chris Ross, Eastern Michigan
7.    Roger Sloan, UTEP
8.    Nate Page, Southern Utah
9.    Devin Carrey, Louisiana-Lafayette
10.    James Kwon, SMU

The University of California, Los Angeles men’s golf team won the 2008 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships, capturing their first NCAA title since 1988 by the slimmest of margins, firing a 306 in the final round to win by one stroke over Stanford.  Kevin Chappell of UCLA sunk the championship-clinching putt on the 18th hole, while sewing up the individual title.  The first-team All-American senior finished the tournament two under par and garnered the Jack Nicklaus Collegiate Player of the Year Award, as well as the Arnold Palmer Award.  The tournament was held on the Kampen Course at the Birck Boilermaker Golf Complex in West Lafayette, Indiana, and was hosted by Purdue University.