May 4, 2009



INDIANAPOLIS--- The NCAA Division III Men's Golf Committee has announced the teams and individuals selected to participate in the 2009 NCAA Division III Men’s Golf Championships.

The championships will be held May 13-16, at the PGA Golf Club in Port St. Lucie, Florida.  The championships will be hosted by Methodist University.

A total of 185 participants will compete at the 2009 championships.  Twenty-seven conferences were awarded automatic qualification for the championships.  Seven teams were selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions, and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. The final two berths were reserved for Pool C, which are institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champion and any remaining Pool B teams.  The top five individuals are selected from the remaining players who have not qualified with a team.  Listed below are the teams and individuals selected for the 2009 championships:

Conferences and Teams Receiving Automatic Qualification (27):

Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference - Penn State-Altoona    
American Southwest Conference - Mary Hardin-Baylor
Centennial Conference - Franklin & Marshall
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin - Illinois Wesleyan
Colonial States Athletic Conference - Cabrini
Commonwealth Conference - Elizabethtown
Freedom Conference - Fairleigh Dickinson-Florham
Great Northeast Athletic Conference - Johnson & Wales    
Heartland College Athletic Conference - Transylvania
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - Central (Iowa)
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association - Olivet
Midwest Conference - Monmouth
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - St. John’s (Minnesota)
New England Small College Athletic Conference - Middlebury
North Atlantic Conference - Husson
North Coast Athletic Conference  - Ohio Wesleyan
North Eastern Athletic Conference - Rutgers-Camden
Northern Athletics Conference - Milwaukee School of Engineering
Northwest Conference - Linfield
Ohio Athletic Conference - Otterbein
Old Dominion Athletic Conference - Washington & Lee    
Presidents’ Athletic Conference - Washington & Jefferson
Skyline Conference - Farmingdale State
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - La Verne
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference - Oglethorpe
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference - Maryville (Missouri)
USA South Athletic Conference - Methodist

Pool B Berths (7):
Carnegie Mellon
La Grange
Nebraska Wesleyan

Pool C Berths (2):

Blake Furgerson, John Carroll
Tain Lee, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Chris Morris, Centre
Lucas Murray, Mount Union
Tyler Wollberg, Carthage

Down by eight strokes entering the final round, Saint John’s University shot a 291 to win its second consecutive NCAA Division III Men’s Golf Championships last year, played at Chateau Elan Resort in Braselton, Georgia.  The finals were co-hosted by Emory University and the Gwinnett Sports Commission.  This was the third consecutive season, and fifth time in the last eight years, that an institution from the 12-state Central region had won the NCAA Division III Men’s Golf Championships.

For more information about the NCAA Division III Golf Championships, log on to  Highlights of the NCAA Division III Men’s Golf Championships will be shown on CBS at 2 p.m. Eastern time, Saturday, July 4.  The CBS seasonal show will feature highlights of 16 different NCAA championships that took place during the spring.