May 3, 2010


INDIANAPOLIS--- The NCAA Division III Men's Golf Committee has announced the teams and individuals selected to participate in the 2010 NCAA Division III Men's Golf Championships.

The championships will be held May 11-14, at the Hershey Links and Hershey Country Club, in Hershey, Pennsylvania. The championships will be hosted by Elizabethtown College.

A total of 190 participants will compete at the 2010 championships. Twenty-seven conferences were awarded automatic qualification for the championships. Seven teams were selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions, and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. The final three berths were reserved for Pool C, which are institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champion and any remaining Pool B teams. The top five individuals are selected from the remaining players who have not qualified with a team. Listed below are the teams and individuals selected for the 2010 championships:

Conferences and Teams Receiving Automatic Qualification (27):
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference Penn State-Behrend
American Southwest Conference Texas-Tyler
Centennial Conference Franklin & Marshall
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin Illinois Wesleyan
Colonial States Athletic Conference Keystone
Commonwealth Conference Messiah
Freedom Conference Manhattanville
Great Northeast Athletic Conference Johnson & Wales (Rhode Island)
Heartland College Athletic Conference Transylvania
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Central (Iowa)
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Hope
Midwest Conference Monmouth
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference St. John's (Minnesota)
New England Small College Athletic Conference Trinity (Connecticut)
North Atlantic Conference Husson
North Coast Athletic Conference Wittenberg
North Eastern Athletic Conference Rutgers-Camden
Northern Athletics Conference Aurora
Northwest Conference Whitworth
Ohio Athletic Conference Otterbein
Old Dominion Athletic Conference Bridgewater (Virginia)
Presidents' Athletic Conference Thomas More
Skyline Conference Farmingdale State
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference La Verne
Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Centre
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Blackburn
USA South Athletic Conference Methodist

Pool B Berths (7):
Nebraska Wesleyan
Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Pool C Berths (3):

Max Bonk, Pacific (Oregon)
Ross Canavan, Redlands
Blake Furgerson, John Carroll
Tain Lee, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
Mitch Mercer, Susquehanna

Oglethorpe University was four shots down entering the final day and shot a 289 to win its first NCAA Division III Men's Golf National Championship last year. Olafur Loftson, Oglethorpe, took home the top individual honors. The championships were played at the PGA Golf Club in Port St. Lucie, Florida and hosted by Methodist University.

For more information about the NCAA Division III Golf Championships, log on to Highlights of the NCAA Division III Men's Golf Championships will be shown on CBS at 4 p.m. Eastern time, Saturday, June 19. The CBS seasonal show will feature highlights of 17 different NCAA championships that took place during the spring.