May 10, 2010


INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division I Men's Golf Committee has selected the teams and individuals to participate in the 2010 NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championships.

Six 54-hole regional tournaments will be conducted May 20-22. Thirteen teams and ten individuals not on those teams will compete at each of three regionals while the other three regionals will have 14 teams and five individuals not on those teams. The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each regional will advance to the finals.

The finals will be conducted June 1-6 at The Honors Course in Chattanooga, Tennessee. The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga is the host institution for this year's championships.

Listed below are the teams and individuals selected to participate in the championships. Teams winning automatic qualification are designated by their conferences in parentheses.

The Course at Yale - New Haven, Connecticut
Hosted by Yale University

Teams (seeded in the following order):
2. Texas
3. South Carolina
4. Virginia
5. Alabama
6. East Tennessee State (Atlantic Sun Conference)
7. Southeastern Louisiana (Southland Conference)
8. Charlotte (Atlantic 10 Conference)
9. Kent State (Mid-American Conference)
10. Vanderbilt
11. Penn State
12. North Carolina-Wilmington
13. Columbia (Ivy Group)
14. Lafayette (Patriot League)

1. Max McKay, Liberty
2. Ben Herrera, Iowa State
3. Harold Varner, East Carolina
4. Robert Karlsson, Liberty
5. Scotty Williams, Pennsylvania

Capital City Club, Crabapple - Atlanta, Georgia
Hosted by the Georgia Institute of Technology

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1. Oklahoma State (Big 12 Conference)
2. Arizona State
3. Georgia Tech (Atlantic Coast Conference)
4. Clemson
5. Arkansas
6. Wake Forest
7. Mississippi
8. Furman (Southern Conference)
9. Brigham Young
10. Georgia Southern
11. Coastal Carolina (Big South Conference)
12. South Alabama (Sun Belt Conference)
13. Towson (Colonial Athletic Association)

1. Mitchell Gregson, Kansas State
2. Kelvin Day, Charleston Southern
3. Jeff Karlsson, Kennesaw State
4. Tom Sherreard, Georgia State
5. Garrett Medeiros, Wofford
6. Mark Joye, Wofford
7. Joe Ida, Kansas State
8. Justin Martinson, Delaware
9. Korbin Kuehn, UMKC
10. Robert Cerabone, Fairleigh Dickinson

The Warren Golf Course - Notre Dame, Indiana
Hosted by the University of Notre Dame

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1. Stanford
2. Florida
3. Florida State
4. Duke
5. LSU
6. North Carolina State
7. Iowa
8. Michigan
9. Northwestern
10. Indiana
11. Virginia Tech
12. Murray State (Ohio Valley Conference)
13. Detroit (Horizon League)
14. St. Francis (Pennsylvania) (Northeast Conference)

1. Jack Newman, Michigan State
2. Ben Pisani, Minnesota
3. Erich Johnston, Purdue
4. Ryan Stocke, Youngstown State
5. Doug Hoppe, Iona

Traditions Club - College Station, Texas
Hosted by the Texas A&M University

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1. Texas A&M
2. Texas Tech
3. Georgia (Southeastern Conference)
4. North Florida
5. TCU
6. Pepperdine (West Coast Conference)
7. Auburn
8. North Carolina
9. Baylor
10. Tulsa
11. Rice
12. Wichita State (Missouri Valley Conference)
13. Georgetown (Big East Conference)
14. Jackson State (Southwestern Athletic Conference)

1. Oscar Zetterwall, New Orleans
2. Ken Looper, New Orleans
3. Philipp Fendt, Louisiana-Lafayette
4. Scott Kelly, Sam Houston State
5. Jonathan Coleman, Grambling

Carlton Oaks Golf Club - San Diego, California
Hosted by San Diego State University

1. Oregon
3. Augusta State
4. Tennessee
5. San Diego State
6. California
7. Chattanooga
8. UCF (Conference USA)
9. Arizona
10. UC Irvine (Big West Conference)
11. Missouri
12. New Mexico State (Western Athletic Conference)
13. Oral Roberts (The Summit League)

1. Tom Whitney, Air Force
2. Scott Travers, Santa Clara
3. Nate Barbee, Kansas
4. Nick Delio, Cal State Northridge
5. Lloyd du Preez, Arkansas State
6. Zack Fischer, Texas-Arlington
7. Pierre-Alexis Rolland, Lamar
8. Justin Bardgett, Colorado
9. Jared Becher, Nevada
10. Paul Apyan, Southern Mississippi

Gold Mountain Golf Club - Bremerton, Washington
Hosted by the University of Washington

1. Washington (Pacific-10 Conference)
2. Southern California
3. Illinois (Big Ten Conference)
4. Oregon State
5. San Diego
6. Colorado State (Mountain West Conference)
7. Middle Tennessee
8. SMU
9. New Mexico
10. Fresno State
11. Eastern Michigan
12. VCU
13. Loyola (Maryland) (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)

1. Espen Kofstad, Denver
2. Austin Graham, UC Davis
3. Brandon Crick, Nebraska
4. Gabe Maier, Wyoming
5. Rodolfo Cazaubon, North Texas
6. Kyle Peterman, Western Illinois
7. Ben Blundell, Oklahoma
8. Kevin Tucker, Washington State
9. Nathan Sutherland, Miami (Ohio)
10. Carlos Ortiz, North Texas

The Texas A&M University, College Station men's golf team won the 2009 NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championships, capturing their first NCAA men's golf title in school history. Texas A&M defeated the University of Arkansas 3-2 in the final round of match play competition. At the end of three rounds of stroke play, Matt Hill, North Carolina State University, took home the individual title. Hill recorded a 2-under-par 69 for each of his three rounds. The tournament was held at the Inverness Club in Toledo, Ohio, and was hosted by the University of Toledo.