PASO ROBLES, Calif. – The Otters were at it again.


Cal State-Monterey Bay basked in the glow of its second consecutive California Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) Championship Tournament title as two of its players – Scott Yeakel and Oskar Nystrom – played for the individual title in a three-man playoff. Yeakel won the title with a birdie on the third playoff hole.

The two Otters ousted Chico State’s Kyle Souza on the first playoff hole with a pair of birdies. On the third, Nystrom got up and down from a bunker to save par only to see Yeakel pump his fist as his 10-foot-birdie for the win dropped home.

“When I took over this program three years ago I told the guys that my dream is to finish one-through-five,” Cal State Monterey Bay Head Coach Jason Owen said. “We came close today with two guys tied for the lead, another guy fourth and another tied for 10th. Our program’s healthy and hopefully we can do this for many years to come.”

The 12th-ranked Otters held off hard-charging Chico State to finish 18-under par and win by two strokes. That’s the lowest score in the tournament’s eight years at Hunter Ranch Golf Course. They've now won four tournaments in a row heading into the NCAA Championship SuperRegional May 2-4.

They’ll likely be joined by at least three of their competitors on this beautiful 6,741-yard course tucked in the wine country. Top-ranked Chico State carded the day’s best round, an 11-under 277, to get close, but fell two strokes short at 16-under par. Those two teams were the cream of the crop at least for this week. Sixteenth-ranked Cal State Stanislaus (+12) finished third, while 11th-ranked Sonoma State (+19) was fourth.

Cal State San Bernardino (+23) finished fifth, UC San Diego (+31) sixth, Cal State East Bay (+40) seventh, and Cal State Dominguez Hills (+59) eighth.

Cal State Monterey Bay raced out to a seven-stroke lead after Monday’s first round which grew as large as 13 in the afternoon before the top-ranked Wildcats mounted a comeback.

The Otters held a four-stroke lead heading into Tuesday’s final round and held on behind

The defending champion Otters finished Monday’s 36 holes at 9-under par and lead second-place Chico State (-5) by four strokes. That was just the cushion they needed to win the CCAA crown again.

After the tournament, the conference’s postseason awards were handed out. Cal State San Bernardino’s Kenny Pigman was named the Player of the Year, Owens earned Coach of the Year honors, Chico State’s Chris Doyle was dubbed Freshman of the Year, and Chico State’s Cody Thompson was named the Newcomer of the Year.

Joining Pigman on the 10-player All-CCAA team was: Cal State Monterey Bay’s Yeakel, Nystrom, John Jackson and Dylan Jackson; Chico State’s Souza and Eric Frazzetta; Sonoma State’s Patrick Bauer; Cal State Stanislaus’ Trevor Blair and Teddy Schrier.