HOWEY-IN-THE-HILLS, Fla. - Cleveland State is bringing the Horizon League Championship back to the North Coast.

Spurred on by medalists Andrew Bailey and Michael Klaric, the Vikings won their third league title in the last four years and fourth in the last six seasons with a closing round 309 on Sunday at the par-72, 6,933-yard Mission Inn Resort.

The Vikings 54 hole total was 925 (308-308-309), beating second place Wright State by seven shots (932).

CSU held a slim three shot lead over Detroit heading into Sunday's final round.

The Vikings also won league championships in 2006, 2008 and 2009.

"It feels great to bring the league championship back to Cleveland," head coach Steve Weir said. "We didn't play our best golf in any of the three rounds, but the guys never gave up and battled through.

"We had a great start today to build a lead and then hit a little stretch where we had some bad holes midway through. But we finished strong as a team and hit key shots when we needed to. I could not be more proud of the way this group of guys battled and stayed focused on the task at hand today."

Freshman Andrew Bailey, the leader after the first two rounds, carded a 76 today to finish tied for the individual lead with sophomore teammate Michael Klaric who shot 75 today. Both players had 54 hole totals of 224.

Bailey shot 71-77-76, while Klaric carded rounds of 75-74-75.

The are the first players from CSU to earn medalist honors at the league championship since Jake Scott in 2009.

"Both Andrew and Michael were brilliant all weekend," Weir said. "They stayed focused each and every shot and made some key putts and key moments. And when they did have a little breakdown, they always came back strong and didn't get affected mentally."
Klaric and Bailey were both named to the all-tournament team.

The duo was also named to the All-Horizon League first team as was senior Kent Monas who was tabbed the Horizon League Player of the Year. Monas tied for 13th at the league championship at 236 (80-78-78), but was near the top or at the top of the league in scoring average all season.

Bailey was also named the Horizon League Newcomer of the Year, while Weir was tabbed the league's Coach of the Year.

Wright State was the runner-up at 932 and was followed by Youngstown State (936), Green Bay (940), Loyola and Detroit who tied for fifth at 943, Valparaiso (944) and Butler (953).