WABASH, Ind. -- Transylvania’s Justin Tereshko fired a four-round score of 279 at the 2012 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Championship at Shadowood Golf Course in Seymour, Indiana and Honeywell Golf Course in Wabash, Indiana to lead the Pioneers to their sixth consecutive HCAC title. Transylvania tallied a team-score of 1,164, holding off second-place Mount St. Joseph’s total of 1,206. 

Tereshko shot a first-round 69 and returned in the final three rounds to shoot a 72, 68, and 70 to finish as the medalist at seven-under par for the event. The senior was named the 2012 Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Most Valuable Player. 

Franklin’s Chris Arnold finished third in the standings to earn the conference’s Freshman of the Year honor. Arnold finished with a total of 290, finishing 11 shots off the lead.

The Pioneers had three other top-eight finishers at the meet, placing Jantzen Latham in second position (289), Hunter Frazier in sixth (300), and Clay Hinton in eighth (302).

Tereshko, Latham, Arnold, Frazier, and Hinton all earned All-HCAC recognition. Joining the group on the All-HCAC team are College of Mount St. Joseph’s Drew Nichols and Phil Gilmore and Hanover’s Robert Bader.

Mount St. Joseph finished second behind the Pioneers with a team score of 1,206. Franklin placed third with a total of 1,217, while Hanover finished fourth in the team standings with a total of 1,228. Defiance tallied 1,287 team strokes for fifth place and was trailed by Manchester (1,294), Anderson (1,306), and Rose-Hulman (1,324).

Transylvania head coach Brian Lane was also honored by the HCAC and named Coach of the Year. Lane earned the honor for the sixth time after leading the Pioneers to their sixth straight HCAC men’s golf championship.