HOWEY-IN-THE-HILLS, Fla. -- The 2012 NCAA Division III Men's Golf Championships got underway on Tuesday at the Mission Inn Resorts, with host-school Oglethorpe jumping out to the lead following round one.

The Stormy Petrels fired a team total of 285 (-3) on the 6,895 yard par-72 Las Colinas Course to edge in front of second-place Claremont-Mudd Scripps (289, +1) and third-place Christopher Newport (290, +2). The top-eight team scores came from the more forgiving Colinas course-layout with the 6,926 yard par-72 El Campeon course-layout playing significantly more difficult.

Texas-Tyler and Guilford managed the conditions on El Campeon best, each carding identical team totals of 300 (+12). Gustavus Adolphus College carded a 301 (+13) on El Campeon to position themselves nicely with a trip to Las Colinas for round two on Wednesday.

Place School Score
1 Oglethorpe 3-under 285
T2 CMS 1-over 289
T2 Christopher Newport 1-over 289
Complete Leaderboard

Individually, Oglethorpe's Anthony Maccaglia and Mudd-Scripps' Brad Shigezawa are tied after posting matching 68's on Las Colinas. Maccaglia closed his round with consecutive birdies to match Shigezawa, whose afternoon featured seven birdies.

The Stormy Petrels managed to be the only team under par after round one, by being the only squad in the field to not card a double bogey or worse in their 90 combined holes of golf.

Andrew Bateman and Mike Westo of Methodist, along with Brian Jaeger of Christopher Newport, are in a three-way tie for third after firing rounds of 2-under par 70. As was the case with the team scoring, the top-eight individual scores all came from players on Las Colinas.

A bunched group of 11 players are tied for 9th place overall after carding even par rounds of 70. In that group are four individuals who handled El Campeon with the lowest scores. Thos individuals are Ryna Dagerman, Simon Erlandsson, Alex Kapraun (St. Thomas (Minn.)) and Tyler McMorrow (Texas-Tyler).