SHREVEPORT, La. -- Trinity (Texas) won its first SCAC golf title since 2005 with a 3-2 match-play victory against Southwestern on Sunday afternoon at Southern Trace Country Club.

Centenary College swept Dallas 5-0 in the consolation match.

Current Trinity head coach Craig McConnell was a sophomore (and earned Second Team All-SCAC honors) on the program's last conference-winning team.

His experience, along with the play of All-SCAC performers Kalen Vos, Tyler Lehmann and Alex Hartzell, helped lead the Tigers to victory -- the program's fourth overall SCAC title. Vos' 3-2 victory against Southwestern's Cameron Button clinched the title for the Tigers.

Based on a coaches vote prior to the championships, sophomore Vos was selected the SCAC Men's Golfer of the Year and first-year Michael Gebhardt of Southwestern was selected SCAC Men's Golfer Freshman of the Year.

Vos is currently sporting the 16th-best average score per round (73.88) among all Division III players who have played a minimun of 12 rounds. Vos is the first Trinity men's golfer to earn Player of the Year honors since 1995 when Ward Downing was recognized with the league's highest honor.