HUTCHINSON, Kan. -- Top-seeded Texas fought off Oklahoma State during the final nine holes at Prairie Dunes Country Club late Wednesday to claim the 2013 Big 12 conference championship. Freshman Brandon Stone (70-67-73=210, E) became Texas’ fourth conference medalist and first in seven years as he finished the weather-shortened tournament three strokes ahead of the Cowboys’ Talor Gooch (70-69-74=213).

Stone, a Ben Hogan Award semifinalist, joins the likes of Texas Exes David Gossett (1999), Jason Hartwick (2004) and Matt Rosenfeld (2006) as Big 12 individual champions.

The win marks the Longhorns’ fourth overall Big 12 Championship title and first since 2004. Texas has previously won the conference tournament at Prairie Dunes in 2002 and 2004. In total, Texas has claimed 43 conference championships since 1927.

Men’s golf becomes the fifth UT program to capture a Big 12 Conference championship during the 2012-13 athletics season, joining volleyball, men's swimming and diving, women’s swimming and diving and men’s indoor track and field.

Seniors Julio Vegas and Cody Gribble paced UT to its third consecutive win and fifth of the season with final-rounds of 71 and 72, respectively. Gribble (72-71-72=215) notched his third top-five finish in his last four events with a tie for third place. Vegas -- the Longhorns’ low player for the day -- tied for 14th place overall at 9-over 219 (77-71-71).

Sophomore Kramer Hickok (74-72-72=218) tied for ninth place in his Big 12 championship debut and junior Toni Hakula (74-72-83=229) rounded out the Texas squad tied for 33rd.

Stone, Gribble and Hickok earned Big 12 All-Tournament Team accolades for finishing among the top 10.