DICKSON, Tenn. -- Even though the final round of the Ohio Valley Conference Championship at the GreyStone Golf Course was rained out, Austin Peay was crowned as the 2013 champion.

With the victory Austin Peay earned the OVC's automatic bid into the NCAA championship.

It was APSU’s eighth OVC tourney championship (first since 2009) and second under head coach Kirk Kayden.

APSU was the only team to shoot below par during the tourney’s first two days—the Govs’ back-to-back 568s left them nine shots of clear of runner-up Jacksonville State. Four of the tourney’s 14 under par scores belonged to the Governors as Anthony Bradley and Dustin Korte got a 3-under 141, while Chris Baker and Marco Iten scored 1-under 143.

“I am very excited for the whole program,” APSU coach Kirk Kayden said. “We have not won it since 2009. I am so happy for these guys. It is just a great feeling for these guys, just a wonderful experience. They played exceptional golf all spring long and, after what happened last year [losing by one stroke on the tourney’s final hole], I think they had that resolve, that motivation to not let it happen again.

“In fact, when we got in the van last year a couple of the guys said if this doesn’t motivate us, nothing will and they held to that all year. They practiced hard all year, starting with the chipping and putting drills…through the qualifying, through all the tournaments. They weren’t going to let what happened last year happen again. I think our guys proved that all year and with the way they played in this tournament this week against a strong field.”

With the OVC title, the Governors now have won a school-record six championships this season, breaking the mark of the 1978-79 and 2002-03 teams, which won five. As a result of his team’s outstanding play this season in addition to the OVC championship, Kayden earned the added bonus of earning the OVC Coach of the Year for the first time.

In addition, senior Dustin Korte and junior Anthony Bradley, who tied for fifth individually, were named to the OVC All-Tournament team.

Patrick Newcomb of Murray State was tournament medalist after shooting 139 (69-70) and will advance to regional play as an individual.


Conference Championship Central