DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. -- Behind a solid third-round performance, first-year head coach Derek Tyson and Saint Francis took home the 2013 Northeast Conference championship on Sunday. This marks the program's third NEC title. The Red Flash had previously won NEC titles in 2006 and 2010.

The Red Flash began the day five shots behind Saturday's leader LIU Brooklyn. Coming down the stretch, Saint Francis used consistency to help propel them to the title, while the Blackbirds faltered late in the round. The Flash used a 306 final round score to best the runner-up Blackbirds by four strokes. SFU compiled a winning score of 904 (297-301-306), while LIU Brooklyn finished with a 908 (296-297-315).

On the individual leaderboard Kevin Fawcett came into the final round of play one stroke off the pace and finished in the runner-up spot. Fawcett's 219 (69-74-76) placed him five shots behind individual champion Josh Waters of LIU Brooklyn. Fawcett ended his tournament run with eight birdies in the three rounds.

Playing in his first NEC championship, Chris Stricek earned a tie for 19th place in the 55-player field with a 231 (74-74-83) total score. Jeff Chastel climbed the leaderboard on day three when he posted his best round of the tournament, a 76, to tie for 22nd. Also seeing time in his first league championship was Shane Crampton who notched sole possession of 24th with a 233 (76-76-81). Placing in 43rd and rounding out the SFU individuals was James Ferguson, who rebounded nicely from a second round 98 to post a 73 on his scorecard on Sunday.