golf-men-d2 flag

Barry Athletics | April 15, 2014

Barry repeats as Sunshine State champions

DADE CITY, Fla. -- Barry won its school-record sixth tournament of the season Tuesday by repeating as Sunshine State Conference champions.

The No. 1-ranked Buccaneers shot 19-under 845 in the three-day SSC Championships at Lake Jovita Golf & Country Club’s 7,072-yard, par-72 course. Barry finished 18 strokes ahead of Saint Leo, who turned in a 54-hole total of 1-under 863. Lynn was third at 7-over 871 in the nine-team, 45-player field.

Barry sophomore Adam Svensson won his seventh tournament of the season with a 7-under 209. He shot 3-under 69 in the final round. Saint Leo’s Joey Savoie was the runner-up at 5-under 211. He shot 70 in the third round.

Barry freshman Mario Beltran tied for third with Nova Southeastern’s Ricardo Celia at 3-under 213. Lynn’s Keith Greene was fifth at 214. Beltran shot par Tuesday. Celia and Greene both shot 71.

Tuesday’s final round was delayed for an hour and 36 minutes after lighting struck.

Buccaneers senior Jared Dalga tied for sixth at 1-under 215. He shot 73 in the last round. Senior Scott Smyers tied for ninth at 217 after shooting par in the final round. Junior Berry Jole tied for 24th at 224.

Svensson had four birdies Tuesday, and had 13 in the tournament. Beltran made three birdies Tuesday, and had 11 to go along with one eagle in the three rounds. Dalga sank three birdie putts in the final round to bring his tournament total to 11. Smyers had five birdies in his closing round, finishing with 10 and one eagle over the three days. Jole had one birdie Tuesday and 11 in the tournament, along with an eagle.

Barry Buccaneers win sixth straight DII women's tennis championship

The top-seeded and ranked Barry Buccaneers rallied back from a deficit after doubles to beat the second-ranked and seeded Nova Southeastern Sharks 4-1 at the 2023 NCAA Division II Women's Tennis Championship.

Barry wins fourth straight DII men's tennis national championship

Barry has now won seven overall men's tennis championships, with the last four straight titles.