golf-men-d1 flag | May 6, 2014

Teams, individuals selected for 2014 DI Men's Golf Championships

INDIANAPOLIS --The NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Committee has selected the teams and individuals to participate in the 2014 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships.

Six 54-hole regional tournaments will be conducted May 15-17.  Thirteen teams and 10 individuals not on those teams will compete at each of three regionals while the other three regionals will have 14 teams and five individuals not on those teams. The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each regional will advance to the finals.

The finals will be conducted May 23-28 at Prairie Dunes Country Club in Hutchinson, Kansas. Wichita State is the host institution for the 2014 championships.

Listed below are the teams and individuals selected to participate in the championships.  Teams winning automatic qualification are designated by their conferences in parentheses.

Auburn University Club – Auburn, Alabama

Hosted by Auburn


1. Alabama [Southeastern Conference]

2. Virginia Tech

3. Texas [Big 12 Conference]

4. Auburn

5. New Mexico [Mountain West Conference]

6. BYU [West Coast Conference]

7. Kennesaw State

8. Colorado

9. Louisville

10. UNC Greensboro

11. UC Davis

12. Sam Houston State [Southland Conference]

13. St. John’s [Big East Conference]

14. Alabama State [Southwestern Athletic Conference]


1. Blake Morris, Mississippi

2. JD Tomlinson, Florida

3. Jared Bettcher, Troy

4. Marco Iten, Austin Peay

5. Theodore Lederhausen, Harvard

The Club at Old Hawthorne – Columbia, Missouri

Hosted by Missouri

Teams (seeded in the following order):

1. Oklahoma State

2. Virginia

3. LSU

4. Arkansas

5. Arizona State

6. Iowa

7. San Diego State

8. Missouri

9. Iowa State

10. Middle Tennessee State

11. Ohio State

12. Denver [The Summit League]

13. Loyola (Md.) [Patriot League]

14. Bryant [Northeast Conference]


1. Pep Angles, Central Arkansas

2. Matt Mabrey, Tulsa

3. Logan McCracken, Tulsa

4. Daniel Wood, Kansas State

5. Alex Taylor, Fairfield

Lonnie Poole Golf Club – Raleigh, North Carolina

Hosted by NC State

Teams (seeded in the following order):

1. Georgia Tech [Atlantic Coast Conference]

2. Washington

3. Florida State

4. Texas A&M

5. Mercer  [Atlantic Sun Conference]

6. Kentucky

7. Texas Tech

8. Wake Forest

9. South Alabama

10. Memphis

11. Minnesota [Big Ten Conference]

12. Rice [Conference USA]

13. Bethune-Cookman [Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference]


1. J.T. Poston, Western Carolina

2. Evan Russell, Hartford

3. Franco Castro, UNC Charlotte

4. Brandon Matthews, Temple

5. Richard Fountain, Davidson

6. Eric Brady, East Carolina

7. Andrew Dorn, Coastal Carolina

8. Ben Wheeler, Coastal Carolina

9. Sean Bosdosh, Maryland

10. Zach Seabolt, Winthrop

Rich Harvest Farms – Sugar Grove, Illinois

Hosted by the Northern Illinois

Teams (seeded in the following order):

1. California

2. Illinois

3. USC

4. UAB


6. Clemson

7. Kent State [Mid-American Conference]

8. Purdue

9. Mississippi State

10. Cal State Fullerton [Big West Conference]

11. New Mexico State [Western Athletic Conference]

12. Jacksonville State [Ohio Valley Conference]

13. Cleveland State [Horizon League]

14. Saint Peter’s [Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference]


1. Niall Platt, Notre Dame

2. Chris O’Neill, Michigan

3. Danny Pizetoski, Richmond

4. Juan Veloza, Towson

5. Rob van de Vin, IUPUI

Eugene Country Club – Eugene, Oregon

Hosted by Oregon


1. Stanford [Pac-12 Conference]

2. Houston

3. Oklahoma

4. South Carolina

5. Baylor

6. Liberty [Big South Conference]

7. Oregon

8. Tennessee

9. North Florida

10. East Tennessee State

11. Chattanooga

12. Wichita State [Missouri Valley Conference]

13. Northern Colorado [Big Sky Conference]


1. Cody Blick, San Jose State

2. Kyle Westmoreland, Air Force

3. David Fink, Oregon State

4. Owen Taylor, Sacramento State

5. Byron Meth, Pacific

6. Tyler Torano, Loyola Marymount

7. Alex Wennstam, GRU Augusta

8. Pete Fernandez, UC Irvine

9. Alex Franklin, Oregon State

10. Frederick Wedel, Pepperdine

Briggs Ranch Golf Club – San Antonio, Texas

Hosted by UTSA

Teams (seeded in the following order):

1. Georgia

2. UCF


4. Vanderbilt

5. South Florida

6. SMU [American Athletic Conference]

7. Georgia Southern [Southern Conference]

8. Georgia State [Sun Belt Conference]

9. TCU

10. Northwestern

11. College of Charleston [Colonial Conference]

12. VCU [Atlantic 10]

13. Columbia [Ivy Group]


1. Eric Oja, Arizona

2. Grant Forrest, San Diego

3. Grady Brame, Southeastern Louisiana

4. Victor Lange, Louisiana Tech

5. Alex McMahon, Arizona

6. Preston Stanley, Houston Baptist

7. Martin Simonsen, UTEP

8. Stuart Smallwood, Texas State

9. Peter Kim, Army

10. Peter Ballo, Sacred Heart

Alabama won the 2013 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championship. The Crimson Tide defeated Illinois, 4-1 in the final round of match play competition in 2013. Max Homa of California was the individual medalist. Homa posted a 9-under par 201 in three rounds of stroke play to win by three shots against a group of six players who were tied for second. He was California’s first individual champion. The tournament was held at The Capital City Club, Crabapple Course in Atlanta, Georgia, with Georgia Tech serving as the host.

College golf: Men's, women's teams announced for fifth East Lake Cup

The field is set for the for the fifth annual East Lake Cup. Texas, Oklahoma State, Vanderbilt and Wake Forest will compete on the men’s side. Duke, Auburn, Wake Forest and Arizona comprise the women's division.

The college careers of the Presidents Cup team members

Eleven of the 16 automatically qualifying players got their golf careers started in the NCAA — including all eight of the U.S. qualifiers.

Phil Mickelson's college career: Records, history, achievements

This is a complete look at Phil Mickelson's college career, including NCAA titles won, college records set and a comprehensive year-by-year list of collegiate tournament results.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners