golf-men-d2 flag

Nova Southeastern Athletics | May 8, 2014

Nova Southeastern leads regional after second day

POOLER, Ga. -- Nova Southeastern sits atop the team standings, with Santiago Gomez tied for first among individuals, as two days are in the books at the NCAA South/Southeast Regionals from the Savannah Quarters Country Club.

The Sharks followed up their opening-round 290 with a 4-over-par 292 on Tuesday and has an overall score of 582, leading fellow Sunshine State Conference schools Barry, Florida Tech and Lynn by the slimmest of margins. Barry is second outright at 584, while Lynn and Florida Tech are tied with first round leader South Carolina-Aiken for third at 585.

Individually for the Sharks, Gomez is tied for first place along with Tim Crouch of Florida Southern. Gomez was under par again Tuesday, with a 70, and has totaled a 139 thus far (5-under). For the second consecutive day, he carded six birdies in his round.

Oscar Lengdèn shot even-par and is tied for 12th overall at 145. Like Gomez, he replicated his first-day total of three birdies. Mitch Farrer shot a 74 Tuesday with birdies on nine and 18, and his 147 total ties him for 22nd.

Both Hunter O'Mahony and Ricardo Celia carded a 76 on the second day and are a stroke apart. O'Mahony is at 151 and Celia 152 with 18 holes to go.

The top seven teams will advance to the DII national championships, held May 19-23 at the Meadows Golf Club in Allendale, Michigan. The race for those spots continues to be hotly contested, as after the aforementioned first five teams in the standings, the next nine are within 13 strokes of one another. Armstrong Atlantic is sixth at 589, a stroke ahead of North Alabama. Saint Leo, Clayton State, West Florida, Florida Southern, Erskine, Flagler and Georgia College (14th at 601) are all still very much in the running.

Nova Southeastern wins the 2023 DII men’s basketball national championship

Nova Southeastern defeated West Liberty, 111-101, in the highest scoring championship game in DII men's basketball history.

UIndy men, Nova Southeastern women win 2023 DII swim and dive championships

The UIndy men and the Nova Southeastern women are the DII swim and dive champions for 2023.