golf-men-d3 flag | May 2, 2016

Teams and individuals selected for 2016 NCAA DIII Men's Golf Championships

INDIANAPOLIS -- The NCAA Division III Men's Golf Committee has announced the teams and individuals selected to participate in the 2016 NCAA Division III Men’s Golf Championships.

The championships, which will be held May 10-13 at Midvale Country Club and Mendon Golf Club, in Rochester, New York, will be hosted by St. John Fisher College and the Monroe County Sports Commission.

A total of 210 participants will compete at the 2016 championships.  Thirty-three conferences were awarded an automatic qualification for the championships.  Two teams were selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. The final six berths were reserved for Pool C, which are institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champion and any remaining Pool B teams.  The top five individuals are selected from the remaining players who have not qualified with a team.  Listed below are the teams and individuals selected for the 2016 championships:

Conferences and teams receiving automatic qualifications

Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference

Penn State-Behrend

American Southwest Conference

Concordia University Texas

Capital Athletic Conference

Christopher Newport

Centennial Conference

Franklin & Marshall

College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin

Illinois Wesleyan

Colonial States Athletic Conference


Commonwealth Coast Conference

Western New England

Empire 8

St. John Fisher

Great Northeast Athletic Conference

Rhode Island College

Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference


Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference


Liberty League


Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association


Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth


Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom


Midwest Conference

Carroll (Wisconsin)

Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference


New England Collegiate Conference


New England Small College Athletic Conference


North Atlantic Conference


North Coast Athletic Conference


North Eastern Athletic Conference


Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference

Wisconsin Lutheran

Northwest Conference


Ohio Athletic Conference


Old Dominion Athletic Conference

Washington and Lee

Presidents’ Athletic Conference

Grove City

Skyline Conference

St. Joseph's (Long Island)

Southern Athletic Association


Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference


St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference


Upper Midwest Athletic Conference

Crown (Minnesota)

USA South Athletic Conference


Pool B Berths (2):

1) Emory

2) Southwestern (Texas)

Pool C Berths (6):

1) St. Thomas (Minnesota)

2) Berry

3) Huntingdon

4) Texas-Tyler

5) Rhodes

6) LaGrange


1) Mats Heien, Mary Hardin-Baylor

2) Phillip Stewart, Schreiner

3) James Lasher, Allegheny

4) Evan Cox, Virginia Wesleyan

5) Brady Hanson, Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Methodist University claimed its eleventh national title in school history at the 2015 NCAA Division III Men’s Golf Championships, finishing three shots ahead of runner-up LaGrange College. Kelby Scharmann, of the University of La Verne, took home individual medalist honors after finishing nine under par for the four-day event.  The 2015 championships were played at Grandover Resort, in Greensboro, North Carolina, and were hosted by Guilford College and Greensboro Sports Commission.

For more information about the NCAA Division III Golf Championships, log on to