golf-men-d1 flag | May 5, 2016

Teams and Individuals selected for 2016 NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championship

  27 teams and 15 individuals not on those teams will compete in the regional play.

INDIANAPOLIS---The NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Committee has selected the teams and individuals to participate in the 2016 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships.

Six 54-hole regional tournaments will be conducted May 16-18.  Thirteen teams and ten individuals not on those teams will compete at each of three regionals while the other three regionals will have 14 teams and five individuals not on those teams.  The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each regional will advance to the finals.

Team and individual medalist titles will be decided May 27-June 1 at Eugene Country Club in Eugene, Oregon.  The University of Oregon is the host institution for the 2016 championships.

Listed below are the teams and individuals selected to participate in the championships.  Teams winning automatic qualification are designated by their conferences in parentheses.

Ol’ Colony Golf Complex – Tuscaloosa, Alabama Hosted by University of Alabama
Seed Teams
1. University of Georgia [Southeastern Conference]
2. Auburn University
3. University of South Carolina, Columbia
4. University of Alabama
5. University of Nevada, Las Vegas [Mountain West Conference]
6. University of Kentucky
7. University of Kansas
8. College of Charleston (South Carolina) [Colonial Athletic Association]
9. Lipscomb University
10. Charleston Southern University
11. University of Colorado, Boulder
12. Harvard University [The Ivy League]
13. Southern Illinois University at Carbondale [Missouri Valley Conference]
1. David Kocher, University of Maryland, College Park
2. Braden Thornberry, University of Mississippi
3. Wes Gosselin, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
4. Andrew Novak, Wofford College
5. Franck Medale, Jacksonville University
6. Tom Harris, University of Maryland, College Park
7. Manuel Elvira, University of Central Florida
8. Seth Gandy, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
9. Peter Staalbo, University of South Alabama
10. David Wicks, Jacksonville University
Gallery Golf Club – Marana, Arizona Hosted by University of Arizona
Seeds Teams
1. Stanford University [Pac-12 Conference]
2. Wake Forest University
3. University of California, Berkeley
4. University of Oregon
5. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
6. University of North Florida
7. University of Alabama at Birmingham
8. Georgia Institute of Technology
9. St. Mary’s College of California [West Coast Conference]
10. Georgia State University
11. University of North Texas
12. Louisiana Tech University [Conference USA]
13. University of California, Riverside [Big West Conference]
14. Siena College [Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference]
1. Sean Walsh, Gonzaga University
2. Brandon Bauman, University of California, Santa Barbara
3. Alex Chiarella, University of San Diego
4. Daniel Chian, Long Beach State University
5. Aaron Beverly, California State University, Sacramento


Blackwolf Run Meadow Valleys Course – Kohler, Wisconsin Hosted by Marquette University
Seeds Teams
1. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign [Big Ten Conference]
2. Florida State University
3. University of Florida
4. University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
5. Baylor University
6. Pennsylvania State University
7. University of Memphis
8. Kent State University [Mid-American Conference]
9. University of California, Los Angeles
10. East Tennessee State University [Southern Conference]
11. Campbell University
12. University of Idaho [Big Sky Conference]
13. South Dakota State University [The Summit League]
1. Lloyd Jefferson Go, Seton Hall University
2. Patrick Flavin, Miami University (Ohio)
3. Billy Walthouse, University of Rhode Island
4. Otto Black, University of Toledo
5. Tee-k Kelly, The Ohio State University
6. Will Grimmer, The Ohio State University
7. George Baylis, University Akron
8. Trent Wallace, Illinois State University
9. Luke Graboyes, Cornell University
10. Evan Russell, University of Hartford
Championship Course at University of New Mexico – Albuquerque, New Mexico Hosted by University of New Mexico
Seeds Teams
1. University of Southern California
2. Arizona State University
3. University of South Florida [American Athletic Conference]
4. San Diego State University
5. Texas A&M University, College Station
6. North Carolina State University
7. University of New Mexico
8. Texas Tech University
9. Texas Christian University
10. University of Iowa
11. Liberty University [Big South Conference]
12. U.S. Military Academy [Patriot League]
13. Cleveland State University [Horizon League]
14. Wagner College [Northeast Conference]
1. Hayden Shieh, Santa Clara University
2. Patrick Fishburn, Brigham Young University
3. Frederik Dreier, University of Texas at El Paso
4. Trevor Clayton, California State University, Fresno
5. Nicholas Dilio, Saint Peter’s University
Karsten Creek Golf Club – Stillwater, Oklahoma Hosted by Oklahoma State University
Seeds Teams
1. Oklahoma State University
2. Clemson University [Atlantic Coast Conference]
3. University of Oklahoma
4. Duke University
5. Augusta University [Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference]
6. Purdue University
7. Michigan State University
8. University of Tennessee, Knoxville
9. Northwestern University
10. University of Louisville
11. McNeese State University [Southland Conference]
12. Virginia Commonwealth University [Atlantic 10]
13. University of Missouri-Kansas City [Western Athletic Conference]
14. Alabama State University [Southwestern Athletic Conference]
1. Nick Voke, Iowa State University
2. Haraldur Magnus, University of Louisiana at Lafayette
3. Grant Bennett, Wichita State University
4. Kevin Gordon, University of Nebraska Omaha
5. Thomas McLaughlin, Texas Southern University
Vanderbilt Legends Club – Franklin, Tennessee Hosted by Vanderbilt University
Seeds Teams
1. University of Texas at Austin [Big 12 Conference]
2. Vanderbilt University
3. Louisiana State University
4. University of Washington
5. University of Virginia
6. University of Houston
7. Pepperdine University
8. Kennesaw State University [Atlantic Sun Conference]
9. University of Michigan
10. Troy University [Sun Belt Conference]
11. East Carolina University
12. University of Tennessee at Martin [Ohio Valley Conference]
13. Georgetown University [Big East Conference]
1. Ryan Cole, James Madison University
2. Ryan Cornfield, University of South Carolina Upstate
3. Matthew Lowe, University of Richmond
4. Jose Montaño, Xavier University
5. Patrick Cover, University of North Carolina Wilmington
6. Thomas Eldridge, University of North Carolina Wilmington
7. Joey Lane, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
8. Jake McGlone, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
9. Ryan Wenzler, Wright State University
10. U Minn Woon, Fairleigh Dickinson University

LSU won the 2015 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championship team title, defeating Southern California, 4-1 in the final round of match play competition. SMU’s Bryson DeChambeau claimed the individual title with a four-day total of 280, which was eight-under par. The championship was held at The Concession Golf Club in Bradenton, Florida, with University of South Florida serving as the host.

6 HBCU golf programs compete in inaugural Charlie Sifford Centennial Cup

Six HBCU golf programs competed in the inaugural Charlie Sifford Centennial Cup on Monday at Quail Hollow Club.

Texas' Travis Vick wins low-amateur honors at the 2022 U.S. Open

Texas' Travis Vick wins low-amateur honors at the 2022 U.S. Open with a final-round 73 to beat out Texas A&M's Sam Bennett.

Travis Vick, Sam Bennett remain in the hunt for low amateur honors at the 2022 U.S. Open

Two strokes separate Texas' Travis Vick and Texas A&M's Sam Bennett in the hunt for the low amateur honors at the 2022 U.S, Open.