golf-men-d2 flag | May 5, 2017

Division II men's golf championships regional selections

  The 2017 Division II men's golf championship regional selections were announced on Friday.

INDIANAPOLIS —The NCAA has announced the field of 80 teams and 32 student-athletes competing as individuals that have been selected to participate in regional competition of the 2017 NCAA Division II Men’s Golf Championships. Regional play will be conducted May 8-10.

At a minimum, the top three teams and the top two student-athletes not with a team from each regional (regardless of region) will advance to the finals May 22-26, at Reunion Resort in Kissimmee, Florida. The remaining eight team berths will be allocated based on the regions represented in the prior year’s medal-match portion of the championships, with the maximum number of teams from a given region capped at seven. The finals will be hosted by the Sunshine State Conference and Central Florida Sports Commission.

There will be four regional sites in which two regions will meet and conduct regional tournaments. The regional tournaments will be paired as follows:

Atlantic and East

Central and Midwest

South and Southeast

South Central and West

Teams and individuals are listed in rank order. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in brackets next to the institution’s name.


The Resort at Glade Springs, Daniels, West Virginia; Mountain East Conference, host. 

1. West Liberty
2. Mercyhurst 
3. California (Pennsylvania)
4. Charleston (West Virginia)
5. Indiana (Pennsylvania) [Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference]
6. West Chester
7. Millersville
8. Shepherd
9. Chowan [Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association]
10. Virginia at Wise [Mountain East Conference]
1. Matt Barto Gannon
2. Sean Edgar Clarion
3. Allan Day Virginia Union
4. Deagan Wall Gannon
1. St. Thomas Aquinas
2. Le Moyne [Northeast-10 Conference]
3. Southern New Hampshire
4. Wilmington (Delaware) [Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference]
5. Concordia (New York)
6. Dominican (New York)
7. Bentley
8. Roberts Wesleyan
9. Saint Rose
10. Franklin Pierce
1. Elliott Wakefield Nyack
2. Stephen Hunt Saint Anselm
3. Nick Kelapire Adelphi
4. Tom Holmes Nyack


Awarii Dunes, Axtell, Nebraska; University of Nebraska at Kearney, host.

1. Central Missouri
2. Arkansas Tech
3. Central Oklahoma [Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association]
4. Lindenwood (Missouri)
5. Henderson State [Great American Conference]
6. Southwestern Oklahoma State
7. Washburn
8. Northeastern State
9. Harding
10. Minnesota State Mankato [Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference]
1. Parker Klitzke Augustana (South Dakota)
2. Patrick McCarthy Missouri Western State
3. Connor Neil Missouri Southern State
4. Hayden Foster Southeastern Oklahoma State
Midwest region
1. Missouri-St. Louis
2. Grand Valley State [Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference]
3. Indianapolis
4. Bellarmine [Great Lakes Valley Conference]
5. Ferris State
6. Saginaw Valley State
7. Wayne State (Michigan)
8. Maryville (Missouri)
9. Tiffin
10. Trevecca Nazarene [Great Midwest Athletic Conference]
1. Keenai Sampson McKendree
2. Talon Supak Illinois-Springfield
3. Joel Pietila Hillsdale
4. Craig Stefureak Drury


The Shoals Golf Club, Muscle Shoals, Alabama; University of North Alabama, host.

1. West Florida [Gulf South Conference]
2. Lynn
3. Barry [Sunshine State Conference]
4. Nova Southeastern
5. Florida Tech
6. Florida Southern
7. Lee
8. North Alabama
9. Rollins
10. Albany State [Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference]
1. Ryan Gendron Saint Leo
2. Matt Anderson Valdosta State
3. Davis Roche Valdosta State
4. Riley Goss Saint Leo
1. Lander
2. Newberry
3. Lincoln Memorial
4. South Carolina Aiken [Peach Belt Conference]
5. Young Harris
6. Limestone [Conference Carolinas]
7. Coker
8. Flagler
9. Georgia College
10. Carson-Newman [South Atlantic Conference]
1. Nick Stafford Belmont Abbey
2. Adam Lumley Mars Hill
3. Matt Elliott North Georgia
4. Keith Egan Clayton State


Brookside Country Club, Stockton, California; University of the Pacific and Visit Stockton, hosts.

South Central REGION
1. St. Mary's (Texas) [Heartland Conference]
2. Colorado-Colorado Springs [Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference]
3. Midwestern State
4. St. Edward's
5. Cameron
6. Colorado School of Mines
7. Colorado Christian
8. Dallas Baptist
9. Colorado State-Pueblo
10. Texas A&M International
1. Hagen Barmasse Rogers State
2. Trevor McKune Colorado Mesa
3. Jordan McBrayer Regis (Colorado)
4. Wilfredo Sanchez Texas A&M-Commerce
1. Brigham Young-Hawaii [Pacific West Conference]
2. California Baptist
3. Chico State
4. Cal State Monterey Bay
5. Cal State East Bay
6. Western Washington
7. Sonoma State
8. Dixie State
9. Holy Names
10. Stanislaus State [California Collegiate Athletic Association]
1. Chris Crisologo Simon Fraser
2. Greg Robarge Cal State San Bernardino
3. Drew Nelson Dominican (California)
4. Nick Rivera Dominican (California)

At the 2016 championship, Saint Leo University defeated California State University, Chico in medal-match play to claim the institution’s first team title in school history. Saint Leo freshman, Hugo Bernard, finished with a 54-hole total of 203; breaking the tournament record and claiming the university’s first national championship in any sport. The championships were hosted at Green Valley Ranch Golf Club in Denver. For more information about the championships, log on to

Texas' Travis Vick wins low-amateur honors at the 2022 U.S. Open

Texas' Travis Vick wins low-amateur honors at the 2022 U.S. Open with a final-round 73 to beat out Texas A&M's Sam Bennett.

Travis Vick, Sam Bennett remain in the hunt for low amateur honors at the 2022 U.S. Open

Two strokes separate Texas' Travis Vick and Texas A&M's Sam Bennett in the hunt for the low amateur honors at the 2022 U.S, Open.

2022 U.S. Open: 3 current NCAA golfers make the cut

Texas' Travis Vick, Texas A&M's Sam Bennett and North Carolina's Austin Greaser all made the cut at the 2022 U.S. Open at The Country Club.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners