golf-men-d2 flag | April 27, 2018

DII men's golf regional selections announced for 2018 champ

DII Men's Golf Championship: Day Five Recap

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA has announced the field of 80 teams and 32 student-athletes competing as individuals that have been selected to participate in regional competition of the 2018 NCAA Division II Men’s Golf Championships. Regional play will be conducted May 7-9.

At a minimum, the top three teams and the top two student-athletes not with a team from each regional (regardless of region) will advance to the finals May 21-25, at the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail at the Shoals, Fighting Joe Course in Muscle Shoals, Alabama.  The remaining eight team berths will be allocated based on the regions represented in the prior year’s head-to-head medal play portion of the championships, with the maximum number of teams from a given region capped at seven.  The finals will be hosted by the University of North Alabama.

RELATED: DII men's golf championship history | Latest regional rankings

Tournaments will be conducted at four regional sites with regional pairings as follows:

Atlantic and East

Central and Midwest

South and Southeast

South Central and West

Teams and individuals are listed in rank order.  Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in brackets next to the institution’s name.


The Resort at Glade Springs, Daniels, West Virginia; Mountain East Conference, host.

Atlantic Region:

  1. Charleston (West Virginia) [Mountain East Conference]
  2. Indiana (Pennsylvania) [Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference]
  3. California (Pennsylvania)
  4. Millersville
  5. West Liberty
  6. West Chester
  7. Virginia Union
  8. Mercyhurst
  9. Gannon
  10. Livingstone [Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association]


  1. Sam Cudjoe, Saint Augustine’s
  2. Eric Dargis, Wheeling Jesuit
  3. Isaiah Shaw, Fayetteville State
  4. Owen Elliott, Shepherd


East Region:

  1. Southern New Hampshire
  2. Le Moyne
  3. St. Thomas Aquinas
  4. Dominican (New York)
  5. Wilmington (Delaware) [Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference]
  6. Roberts Wesleyan
  7. Bentley [Northeast-10 Conference]
  8. Franklin Pierce
  9. Concordia (New York)
  10. Post



  1. Stephen Hunt, Saint Anselm
  2. Robert Libiszewski, American International  
  3. James Elliott, Assumption
  4. Nick Kelapire, Adelphi


Findlay Country Club, Findlay, Ohio; University of Findlay, host.

Central Region:

  1. Arkansas Tech
  2. Central Oklahoma
  3. Central Missouri
  4. Lindenwood (Missouri) [Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association]
  5. Southeastern Oklahoma State
  6. Harding
  7. Henderson State [Great American Conference]
  8. Missouri Western
  9. Southwestern Oklahoma State
  10. Minnesota State Mankato [Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference]



  1. Noah Rasinski, Concordia-St. Paul
  2. Rhett Bechtel, Southern Nazarene
  3. Ian Mackenzie-Olson, Bemidji State
  4. Michael Schmitz, Winona State


Midwest Region:

  1. Grand Valley State [Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletics Conference]
  2. Indianapolis [Great Lakes Valley Conference]
  3. Missouri-St. Louis
  4. Wayne State (Michigan)
  5. Maryville (Missouri)
  6. Bellarmine
  7. Saginaw Valley State
  8. McKendree
  9. Tiffin
  10. Findlay [Great Midwest Athletic Conference]



  1. Craig Stefureak, Drury
  2. Larken Whittemore, Trevecca Nazarene
  3. Blaine Turner, Trevecca Nazarene
  4. Andrew Hammett, Ferris State



Rock Barn Country Club, Conover, North Carolina; Lenoir-Rhyne University, host.

South Region:

  1. West Florida [Gulf South Conference]
  2. Florida Southern
  3. Nova Southeastern
  4. Florida Tech [Sunshine State Conference]
  5. Barry
  6. Lynn
  7. Rollins
  8. Saint Leo
  9. Delta State
  10. Albany State [Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference]



  1. Matt Anderson, Valdosta State
  2. Davis Roche, Valdosta State
  3. Samuel Jones, West Georgia
  4. Scott Odell, Lee


Southeast Region:

  1. South Carolina Aiken [Peach Belt Conference]
  2. Newberry
  3. Columbus State
  4. Limestone
  5. Carson-Newman [South Atlantic Conference]
  6. Lincoln Memorial
  7. Lander
  8. Young Harris
  9. North Greenville [Conference Carolinas]
  10. Georgia Southwestern



  1. Nick Stafford, Belmont Abbey
  2. Levi Kettelhut, Belmont Abbey
  3. Logan Archer, North Georgia
  4. Wanjoo Lee, Coker



Tascosa Golf Club, Amarillo, Texas; West Texas A&M University, host.

South Central Region:

  1. Colorado-Colorado Springs
  2. St. Mary’s (Texas)
  3. Texas A&M Commerce
  4. Arkansas-Fort Smith
  5. Oklahoma Christian
  6. Colorado School of Mines [Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference]
  7. Colorado Christian
  8. Colorado State-Pueblo
  9. Midwestern State
  10. Rogers State [Heartland Conference]



  1. Grant Olinger, Colorado Mesa
  2. Pedro De La Vega, Western New Mexico
  3. Joaquin Arguelles, Dallas Baptist University
  4. Nicholas Tenuta, Regis (Colorado)


West Region:

  1. Chico State [California Collegiate Athletic Association]
  2. Cal State Monterey Bay
  3. Dixie State [Pacific West Conference]
  4. Sonoma State
  5. California Baptist
  6. Simon Fraser
  7. Dominican (California)
  8. Western Washington
  9. Holy Names
  10. Cal State San Marcos



  1. Jeffrey Yamaguchi, Stanislaus State
  2. Nick Huff, Concordia Portland
  3. Cody Hall, Cal State San Bernardino
  4. Gabriel DeLeon Manotoc, Academy of Art


At the 2017 championship, Florida Southern College defeated Lynn University 3-2 in the head-to-head medal play final to claim their thirteenth men’s golf team title in school history. West Florida junior Chandler Blanchet finished with a 54-hole total of one-under par 209 to claim individual medalist honors. The championships were hosted at Reunion Resort in Kissimmee, Florida.

For more information about the championships, log on to

Omni La Costa Resort & Spa begins renovation of its famed Champions Course

Hanse Golf Course Design kicks off project as resort prepares to host three-consecutive NCAA Division I women’s and men’s golf championships beginning in 2024.

6 HBCU golf programs compete in inaugural Charlie Sifford Centennial Cup

Six HBCU golf programs competed in the inaugural Charlie Sifford Centennial Cup on Monday at Quail Hollow Club.

Texas' Travis Vick wins low-amateur honors at the 2022 U.S. Open

Texas' Travis Vick wins low-amateur honors at the 2022 U.S. Open with a final-round 73 to beat out Texas A&M's Sam Bennett.