golf-men-d1 flag | May 5, 2018

2018 Division I men's golf championship selections revealed

DI Men's Golf Championships: Oklahoma claims the National Title

INDIANAPOLIS –– The NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Committee has selected the teams and individuals to participate in the 2018 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships.

Six 54-hole regional tournaments will be conducted May 14-16. Thirteen teams and ten individuals not on those teams will compete at each of three regionals while the other three regionals will have 14 teams and five individuals not on those teams. The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each regional will advance to the finals.

Team and individual medalist titles will be decided May 25-30 at Karsten Creek Golf Club in Stillwater, Oklahoma. Oklahoma State University is the host institution for the 2018 championships.

Listed below are the teams and individuals selected to participate in the championships.

Teams winning automatic qualification are designated by their conferences in parentheses.

Reunion Resort, Watson Course – Kissimmee, Florida Hosted by University of Central Florida


1. Vanderbilt

2. Florida

3. North Carolina

4. South Florida [American Athletic Conference]

5. Kent State [Mid-American Conference]

6. Arizona

7. Purdue

8. Colorado State

9. Saint Mary’s (California)

10. UCF

11. Coastal Carolina [Sun Belt Conference]

12. Jacksonville State [Ohio Valley Conference]

13. Georgetown [Big East Conference]

14. Central Connecticut State [Northeast Conference]


1.Steven Fisk, Georgia Southern

2.R.J. Keur, University of Alabama at Birmingham

3. Yannick Schütz, South Alabama

4. Billy Tom Sargent, Western Kentucky

5. Saptak Talwar, Sacred Heart

Lonnie Poole Golf Course – Raleigh, North Carolina Hosted by North Carolina State University

Teams (seeded in the following order):

1. Georgia Tech [Atlantic Coast Conference]

2. California

3. Texas

4. Arizona State

5. Duke

6. NC State

7. Liberty [Big South Conference]

8. Missouri

9. Santa Clara

10. Campbell

11. Middle Tennessee State [Conference USA]

12. Augusta [Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference]

13. Davidson [Atlantic 10 Conference]

14. Iona [Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference]


1. Alex Lee, Fresno State

2. Mark Lawrence, Virginia Tech

3. Conor Purcell, Charlotte

4. Alex Weiss, Marshall

5. Brendan MacDougall, High Point

OSU Golf Club, Scarlet Course – Columbus, Ohio Hosted by The Ohio State University

Teams (seeded in the following order)

1. Oklahoma State

2. Illinois [Big Ten Conference]

3. Texas Tech

4. UNLV [Mountain West Conference]

5. Wake Forest

6. Northwestern

7. Penn State

8. Tennessee

9. Louisville

10. Jacksonville

11. Michigan State

12. Yale [The Ivy League]

13. Cleveland State [Horizon League]


1. Kyle Mueller, Michigan

2. Matthew Naumec, Boston College

3. Alex Schaake, Iowa

4. Patrick Flavin, Miami (Ohio)

5. David Kocher, Maryland

6. Daniel Wetterich, Ohio State

7. Peter Knade, Maryland

8. Jacob Poore, Northern Kentucky

9. Zach Schroeder, Indiana University-Purdue University, Fort Wayne

10. Nick Wilkins, Morehead State

Jimmie Austin OU Golf Club – Norman, Oklahoma Hosted by University of Oklahoma

Teams (seeded in the following order):

1. Oklahoma [Big 12 Conference]

2. Auburn [Southeastern Conference]

3. Arkansas

4. Florida State

5. North Florida [Atlantic Sun Conference]

6. Pepperdine [West Coast Conference]

7. Brigham Young

8. Virginia

9. San Diego State

10. Nevada

11. Sam Houston State [Southland Conference]

12. University of Missouri-Kansas City [Western Athletic Conference]

13. Navy [Patriot League]

14. Prairie View A&M [Southwestern Athletic Conference]


1. Ian Snyman, North Texas

2. McClure Meissner, SMU

3. Peyton Wilhoit, Southern Illinois

4. Chris Korte, Denver

5. Tanner Napier, Arkansas State

The Reserve at Spanos Park – Stockton, California Hosted by University of the Pacific


1. LSU

2. Alabama

3. Stanford

4. Southern California [Pac-12 Conference]

5. Oregon

6. TCU

7. Colorado

8. Kansas

9. Kennesaw State

10. Iowa State

11. UNC Greensboro [Southern Conference]

12. UC Irvine [Big West Conference]

13. North Dakota State [The Summit League]


1. Carl Yuan, Washington

2. Riley Elmes, Loyola Marymount

3. Vinnie Murphy, Grand Canyon

4. Felix Mory, California State University, Northridge

5. Blake Tomlinson, Utah

6. Charles Corner, UTEP

7. Henry Lee, Washington

8. Jeremy Gandon, Kansas State

9. Ryan Han, UC Davis

10. Michael Christifulli, Siena

Traditions Club – Bryan, Texas. Hosted by Texas A&M University, College Station

Teams (seeded in the following order):

1. Texas A&M

2. Baylor

3. Clemson

4. Kentucky


6. Ole Miss

7. South Carolina

8. San Francisco

9. Georgia

10. Mississippi State

11. UNC Wilmington [Colonial Athletic Association]

12. Northern Colorado [Big Sky Conference]

13. Bradley [Missouri Valley Conference]


1. Michael Perras, Houston

2. Mitchell Meissner, Rice

3. Blake Elliott, McNeese

4. Zander Lozano, University of Texas at San Antonio

5. Mario Carmona, Rice

6. Hunter Eichhorn, Marquette

7. Lewis George, Central Arkansas

8. Jake Brown, Indiana

9. Matt Murlick, Marquette

10. Michael Sass, College of Charleston

The 2017 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships were held at Rich Harvest Farms, with the Northern Illinois University serving as host. Oklahoma won the team title, defeating reigning national champion Oregon, 3-1-1 in the final round of match play competition. Ole Miss’ Braden Thornberry claimed the individual title with a four-day total of 277, which was 11-under par.

Top-ranked Pepperdine to headline 15-team field at this year's Western Intercollegiate

Taking place Monday-Wednesday, April 13-15 at Pasatiempo Golf Club in Santa Cruz, Calif., the Western Intercollegiate is entering its 74th year. The tournament will feature top-ranked amateurs Cole Hammer and Sahith Theegala as well as a 15-team field.

NCAA DI golf committees announce adjusted course access policy for 2021 and 2022 championships

The NCAA Division I men's and women’s golf committees have adjusted the open course access policy for the 2021 and 2022.

East Lake Cup: How it works, history of the college golf event

About two months after a champion is crowned on the PGA Tour at East Lake Golf Club at the Tour Championship, the collegiate stars tee it up on the same course to show their skills at the East Lake Cup. Here’s everything you need to know about the tournament.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners