golf-men-d3 flag | May 7, 2018

DIII men's golf championships selections revealed

Wittenberg wins the 2017 DIII Men's Golf Championship

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division III Men's Golf Committee has announced the teams and individuals selected to participate in the 2018 NCAA Division III Men’s Golf Championships.

The championships, which will be held May 15-18 at Grandover Resort, in Greensboro, North Carolina, will be hosted by Guilford College and the Greensboro Sports Commission.

A total of 216 participants will compete at the 2018 championships. Thirty-three conferences were awarded an automatic qualification for the championships. Two teams were selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification. The final seven berths were reserved for Pool C, which are institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champion and any remaining Pool B teams. The six individuals are selected from the remaining players who have not qualified with a team.

RELATED: DIII men's golf championship history

Listed below are the teams and individuals selected for the 2018 championships:

Conferences receiving automatic qualification berths (33):
Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference Penn State-Behrend
American Southwest Conference Texas-Tyler
Capital Athletic Conference Mary Washington
Centennial Conference Franklin & Marshall
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin Illinois Wesleyan
Colonial States Athletic Conference Rosemont
Commonwealth Coast Conference Western New England
Empire 8 St. John Fisher
Great Northeast Athletic Conference Johnson & Wales (R.I.)
Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Transylvania
Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Nebraska Wesleyan
Landmark Conference Goucher
Liberty League New York University
Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association Hope
Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth Stevenson
Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom Manhattanville
Midwest Conference Lake Forest
Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference St. Thomas (Minn.)
New England Small College Athletic Conference Trinity (Conn.)
North Atlantic Conference Husson
North Coast Athletic Conference Wittenberg
North Eastern Athletic Conference Penn State-Berks
Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference Aurora
Northwest Conference Pacific Lutheran
Ohio Athletic Conference Otterbein
Old Dominion Athletic Conference Guilford
Presidents' Athletic Conference Washington and Jefferson
Skyline Conference Farmingdale State
Southern Athletic Association Rhodes
Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Claremont-Mudd-Scripps
St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Webster
Upper Midwest Athletic Conference St. Scholastica
USA South Athletic Conference North Carolina Wesleyan

Pool B Berths (2)
Southwestern (Texas)

Pool C Berths (7)
Concordia University Texas
La Verne
Saint John's (Minnesota)
Washington and Lee

Individuals (6)
Ben VanScoyk, Calvin
Lance Keiser, Ferrum
Ryan Muthiora, Kenyon
Jacob Arnett, Oglethorpe
Cade Lawson, Redlands
Ryan Isaacson, Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Wittenberg claimed its first national title in school history at the 2017 NCAA Division III Men’s Golf Championships, finishing two shots ahead of runner-up Guilford College. Josh Gibson, of Hope College, took home individual medalist honors after finishing one under par for the four-day event and winning a one-hole playoff against Garrett Brickley, of Wittenberg. The 2017 championships were played at Mission Inn Resort & Club, in Howey-in-the-Hills, Florida, and were hosted by Oglethorpe University and the Central Florida Sports Commission.

Omni La Costa Resort & Spa begins renovation of its famed Champions Course

Hanse Golf Course Design kicks off project as resort prepares to host three-consecutive NCAA Division I women’s and men’s golf championships beginning in 2024.

6 HBCU golf programs compete in inaugural Charlie Sifford Centennial Cup

Six HBCU golf programs competed in the inaugural Charlie Sifford Centennial Cup on Monday at Quail Hollow Club.

Texas' Travis Vick wins low-amateur honors at the 2022 U.S. Open

Texas' Travis Vick wins low-amateur honors at the 2022 U.S. Open with a final-round 73 to beat out Texas A&M's Sam Bennett.