golf-men-d1 flag | May 24, 2018

156-participant DI Men's Golf Championship field is set

DI Men's Golf Championships: Oklahoma claims the National Title

INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Committee announced today the 156 participants that will compete in the 2018 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships.

The top five teams and the top individual not on those teams from each of the six regional sites – Kissimmee, Florida; Raleigh, North Carolina; Columbus, Ohio; Norman, Oklahoma; Stockton, California, and Bryan, Texas have advanced to compete at the finals which will be held May 25-30 at Karsten Creek Golf Club in Stillwater, Oklahoma. The championships are being hosted by Oklahoma State University.

The teams and individuals advancing to the 2018 championships finals are listed below:

Reunion Resort, Watson Course – Kissimmee, Florida
Hosted by University of Central Florida


  1. Florida
  2. University of Central Florida
  3. Vanderbilt
  4. North Carolina
  5. Kent State


George Cunningham, Arizona

Lonnie Poole Golf Course – Raleigh, North Carolina

Hosted by North Carolina State University 

Teams (seeded in the following order):

  1. Texas
  2. Duke
  3. NC State
  4. Augusta University
  5. Arizona State


Pontus Nyholm, Campbell

OSU Golf Club, Scarlet Course – Columbus, Ohio

Hosted by The Ohio State University 

Teams (seeded in the following order):

  1. Oklahoma State
  2. Illinois
  3. UNLV
  4. Northwestern
  5. Texas Tech


Kyle Mueller, Michigan

Jimmie Austin OU Golf Club – Norman, Oklahoma
Hosted by University of Oklahoma

Teams (seeded in the following order):

1.   Oklahoma
T2. Brigham Young
T2. North Florida
T4. Arkansas
T4. Auburn


Joshua McCarthy, Pepperdine 

The Reserve at Spanos Park – Stockton, California

Hosted by University of the Pacific 


  1. Kansas
  2. Stanford
  3. Iowa State
  4. Alabama
  5. Oregon


Charles Corner, UTEP 

Traditions Club – Bryan, Texas
Hosted by Texas A&M University, College Station

Teams (seeded in the following order):

  1. Texas A&M
  2. Clemson
  3. Baylor
  4. UCLA
  5. Kentucky


Braden Thornberry, Ole Miss

Finals play consists of three days of stroke play on Friday, May 25 through Sunday, May 27 (54 holes), after which the top 15 teams and nine individuals not on an advancing team will be determined. That is followed by a final day of 18 holes of stroke play on Monday, May 28 to determine the top eight teams that will advance to match play as well as the 72-hole individual champion. The team national champion will be determined by a match-play format that will consist of quarterfinals and semifinals conducted on Tuesday, May 29, followed by finals on Wednesday, May 30.

For 2018 championship ticket information visit or contact Clark Woodruff at or 405-744-5247.

Live results from the championships can be found online at

The 2017 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships were held at Rich Harvest Farms, with Northern Illinois University serving as host. Oklahoma won the team title, defeating reigning national champion Oregon, 3-1-1 in the final round of match play competition. Braden Thornberry of Ole Miss claimed the individual title with a four-day total of 277, which was 11-under par.


Top-ranked Pepperdine to headline 15-team field at this year's Western Intercollegiate

Taking place Monday-Wednesday, April 13-15 at Pasatiempo Golf Club in Santa Cruz, Calif., the Western Intercollegiate is entering its 74th year. The tournament will feature top-ranked amateurs Cole Hammer and Sahith Theegala as well as a 15-team field.

NCAA DI golf committees announce adjusted course access policy for 2021 and 2022 championships

The NCAA Division I men's and women’s golf committees have adjusted the open course access policy for the 2021 and 2022.

East Lake Cup: How it works, history of the college golf event

About two months after a champion is crowned on the PGA Tour at East Lake Golf Club at the Tour Championship, the collegiate stars tee it up on the same course to show their skills at the East Lake Cup. Here’s everything you need to know about the tournament.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners