golf-men-d2 flag | May 24, 2019

DII men's golf championship: Lynn wins second-straight national championship

Lynn University claims 2019 Men's DII Golf National Championship

This article was contributed by Adam Zundell. 

DANIELS, W. Va. — Lynn won a second-straight national championship by defeating Lincoln Memorial, 3-2, on Friday at The Resort at Glade Springs.

LIVE SCORING: Team Leaderboard | Individual Leaderboard 

The Fighting Knights had to overcome an 0-2 deficit on Friday to successfully defend their title. LMU’s Dan Bradbury gave away a two-shot lead on 17 with a bogey while his opponent made birdie, but regrouped made a birdie on the 18th to win his match for the Railsplitters. Sam Broadhurst pulled away late in his match to put Lincoln Memorial up by two.

However, Lynn had strong leads in the other three matches as the teams came to the 18th green. After leading by just one at the turn, Carlos Bustos gained a total of five shots on the first three holes on the back to take command of his match and wound up winning by five. Giovanni Manzoni took a two-shot lead on the very first hole and did not let his opponent get any closer and finished with a five-shot win. Jorge Villar led by six after nine holes and cruised for a seven-shot win to clinch the title for the Fighting Knights.


Throughout regional action, 80 teams and 32 individual student-athletes battled at four regional sites in three-day tournaments from May 9-11. Twenty teams and eight individuals moved forward. Southern New Hampshire (+35), Lindenwood (+6), Lynn (+5), and Dixie State (-17) won their respective regions to advance. Here are how the four regional tournaments finished:


Region Advancing teams advancing individuals
Atlantic/East Southern New Hampshire, Bentley, Wilmington (DE) Owen Elliott (Shepherd), Michael Marisco (Gannon)
Central/Midwest Lindenwood, Missouri-St. Louis, Ferris State, Arkansas Tech, Trevecca Nazarene, Grand Valley State Hayden Foster (Southeastern Oklahoma State), Zach James (Southeastern Oklahoma State)
South/Southeast Lynn, West Florida, Barry, Florida Southern, USC Aiken, Lincoln Memorial, Saint Leo Juan Jose Guerra (Nova Southeastern), Vincent Norrman (Georgia Southwestern)
South Central/West Dixie State, UC San Diego, Cal State Monterey Bay, Sonoma State Chase Carlson (Colorado Christian), Josh McCollum (Chico State)

BOLD = Region team champion

Lynn, which drew the No. 2 seed in the South Region, is the reigning national champion. It defeated West Florida 3-2 at Muscle Shoals, Alabama for the 2018 DII men's golf team title. Here is a complete list of the DII men's golf championship finals results.

2018 RECAP: Lynn wins first title

2019 Lynn Andy Walker 3 Lincoln Memorial 2 Daniels, W.V.
2018 Lynn Andrew Danna 3 West Florida 2 Muscle Shoals, Ala.
2017 Florida Southern Doug Gordin 3 Lynn 2 Kissimmee, Fla.
2016 Saint Leo Chris Greenwood 3 Chico State 2 Metro State
2015 Nova Southeastern Ryan Jamison 3 Lynn 2 Conover, N.C.
2014 Barry Jimmy Stobs 3 Nova Southeastern 1 Grand Valley State
2013**** Barry Jimmy Stobs 2.5 Lynn 2.5 Hershey, Pa.
2012 Nova Southeastern Garrett Runion 5 Chico State 0 Simpsonville, Ky.
2011 Cal State-Monterey Bay Jason Owen 3 Lynn 2 Florence, Ala.
2010 Florida Southern Doug Gordin 1,206 Central Missouri 1,213 Noblesville, Ind.
2009 ***Sonoma State Val Verhunce 1,179 Cal State San Bernardino 1,179 Western Washington
2008 ***West Florida Steve Fell 1,129 North Alabama/St. Edwards 1,129 Rice
2007 Barry Jimmy Stobs 1,186 South Carolina Upstate 1,187 Grand Valley State
2006 South Carolina Aiken Mike Carlisle 1,148 Columbus State 1,160 Concord
2005 South Carolina Aiken Mike Carlisle 1,158 Armstrong Atlantic 1,163 Armstrong Atlantic
2004 South Carolina Aiken Mike Carlisle 1,191 Chico State 1,200 DeLand, Fla.
2003 Francis Marion Jonathan Burnett 1,149 Rollins 1,163 Sunriver, Ore.
2002 Rollins Kyle Frakes 1,194 Cal State Stanislaus 1,195 Rollins
2001 West Florida Steve Fell 1,148 Florida Southern 1,16 Grand Valley State
2000 Florida Southern Doug Gordin 1,140 Cal State Bakersfield/Grand Canyon 1,169 Cal State Stanislaus
1999 Florida Southern Doug Gordin 1,125 South Carolina Aiken 1,157 Valdosta State
1998 Florida Southern Doug Gordin 1,168 Columbus State 1,175 Rollins
1997 Columbus State Scott Clark 1,149 North Florida 1,153 Grand Canyon
1996 Florida Southern Doug Gordin 1,178 South Carolina Aiken 1,187 Central Oklahoma
1995 Florida Southern Charley Matlock 1,204 South Carolina Aiken 1,214 South Carolina Aiken
1994 Columbus State Rick Cravens 1,175 North Florida 1,179 North Florida
1993 Abilene Christian Vince Jarrett 1,160 Columbus State 1,165 Cal State Stanislaus
1992 Columbus State Earl Bagley 1,144 Troy 1,176 Wofford
1991 Florida Southern Charley Matlock 1,166 Columbus State 1,190 Florida Atlantic
1990 Florida Southern Charley Matlock 1,170 Columbus State 1,196 Florida Atlantic
1989 Columbus State Earl Bagley 1,196 Valdosta State 1,206 Gannon
1988 Tampa Chuck Winship 1,189 Florida Southern 1,203 Truman
1987 Tampa Chuck Winship 1,175 Columbus State 1,180 Columbus State
1986 Florida Southern Charley Matlock 1,196 Columbus State 1,207 Tampa
1985 Florida Southern Charley Matlock 1,192 Stephen F. Austin 1,202 Sam Houston State
1984 Troy Mike Griffin 1,198 Florida Southern 1,216 Gannon
1983 Texas State Bill Woodley 1,229 Troy 1,234 California (Pa.)
1982 Florida Southern Charley Matlock 1,181 Texas State 1,191 Florida Southern
1981 Florida Southern Charley Matlock 1,184 Allian International 1,219 Hartford
1980 Columbus State Arthur Land 1,178 Florida Southern 1,181 Nicholls state
1979 UC Davis Joe Carlson 1,194 Columbus State/Florida Southern 1,203 UC Davis
1978 Columbus State Mike Taylor 1,174 Troy 1,183 Florida Southern
1977 Troy Mike Griffin 1,168 Rollins 1,179 Texas Southern
1976 Troy Mike Griffin 1,181 UC Irvine 1,212 Youngstown state
1975** UC Irvine Jerry Hulbert 886 Cal State Northridge 891 Tennessee-Martin
1974 Cal State Northridge Bill Cullum 1,205 UC Irvine 1,211 South Florida
1973 Cal State Northridge Bill Cullum 1,180 South Florida 1,196 UC Riverside
1972 New Orleans Robert Brown 1,214 South Florida 1,238 Williams
1971 New Orleans Robert Brown 1,198 Cal State Northridge 1,202 Chico State
1970 Rollins Joe Justice 1,195 Georgia Southern 1,205 Youngstown State
1969 Cal State Northridge Bill Cullum 1,231 Rollins 1,232 New Mexico
1968 Lamar Dan Rogas 1,151 Middle Tennesee 1,192 Lamar
1967 Lamar Dan Rogas 1,141 Murray State 1,160 Murray State
1966 Chico State Hal Bishop 1,206 Lamar 1,207 Chico State
1965 Middle Tennessee State E.K. Patty 1,157 Southern Illinois 1,202 Missouri State
1964* Southern Illinois Lynn Holder 886 San Diego State 888 Missouri State
1963 Missouri State A.J. McDonald 1,188 Aquinas 1,199 Missouri State

*54-hole tournament.

**Fourth round rained out.

***Won title in playoff.

****Won title by tiebreaker rule.

Match-play finals began in 2011

2023 Ryder Cup: Players' college careers and accomplishments

Here's everything you need to know about the 2023 Ryder Cup players' college careers and accomplishments.

Georgia Tech's Christo Lamprecht finishes as low amateur at 2023 British Open

Helped by an opening-round 66, Georgia Tech rising senior Christo Lamprecht captured the Silver Medal at the 2023 British Open as low amateur finisher.

Spikemark Golf LLC named to manage NCAA golf scoring and ranking services beginning with 2023-24 season

The NCAA announced that Spikemark Golf LLC will become the provider for all golf scoring and ranking services utilized by the Association beginning with the 2023-24 season.