golf-men-d1 flag

Dan McDonald | | August 16, 2019

East Lake Cup: How it works, history of the college golf event

  East Lake Golf Club

About two months after a champion is crowned on the PGA Tour at East Lake Golf Club at the Tour Championship, the collegiate stars tee it up on the same course to show their skills at the East Lake Cup.

Here’s everything you need to know about the tournament:

WHAT: “Modeled after the NCAA Golf Championships, the format for the East Lake Cup consists of an opening round of stroke play to crown an individual male and female champion and determine seeding for the following two days of match-play competition.”

WHO: The eight semifinalists from the 2019 Division I men’s and women’s golf national championships.

Women: Arizona, Auburn, Duke, Wake Forest

Men: Oklahoma State, Texas, Vanderbilt, Stanford

WHEN: Monday, Oct.  28 through Wednesday Oct. 30.

WHERE: East Lake Golf Club in Atlanta, Ga.

WATCH: The East Lake Cup will air live on the Golf Channel on Monday (Live 3-6 pm ET; Encore 8-11 pm ET), Tuesday (Live 3-6 pm ET; Encore 8-11 pm ET), and Wednesday (Live 3-6 pm ET; Encore 7-10 pm ET)


2018 Champions:

Men's Team: Auburn University

Women's Team: University of Southern California

Men's Individual: Viktor Hovland - Oklahoma State University

Women's Individual: Albane Valenzuela - University of Southern California

2017 Champions:

Men's Team: Vanderbilt University

Women's Team: University of Southern California

Men's Individual: Will Gordon - Vanderbilt University

Women's Individual: Robynn Ree - University of Southern California

2016 Champions:

Men's Team: University of Illinois

Women's Team: Duke University

Men's Individual: Scottie Scheffler - University of Texas

Women's Individual: Andrea Lee - Stanford University

2015 Champions*:

Men: University of Illinois

Women: University of Southern California

*Individual championship was added in 2016

College golf: Men's, women's teams announced for fifth East Lake Cup

The field is set for the for the fifth annual East Lake Cup. Texas, Oklahoma State, Vanderbilt and Wake Forest will compete on the men’s side. Duke, Auburn, Wake Forest and Arizona comprise the women's division.

The college careers of the Presidents Cup team members

Eleven of the 16 automatically qualifying players got their golf careers started in the NCAA — including all eight of the U.S. qualifiers.

Phil Mickelson's college career: Records, history, achievements

This is a complete look at Phil Mickelson's college career, including NCAA titles won, college records set and a comprehensive year-by-year list of collegiate tournament results.

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners