golf-men-d1 flag

Stan Becton | | May 30, 2022

Vanderbilt's Gordon Sargent wins individual title in 2022 DI men's golf championship

Vanderbilt's Gordon Sargent wins the 2022 DI men's golf individual title

After a playoff and four rounds of championship DI men's golf action, Vanderbilt's Gordon Sargent has won the individual championship.

FULL COVERAGE: Follow the DI men's golf championship

Sargent won a playoff after there was a four-way tie for first at the end of 18 holes on day four as Texas' Parker Coody, North Carolina's Ryan Burnett and Oklahoma State's Eugenio Lopez-Chacarra and were all tied even with par.

Sargent finished the playoff with a birdie on 18 to become the second-ever Vanderbilt golfer win the individual title.

Click or tap here for the individual stats and leaderboard.

“It definitely took a lot of patience out there – it was playing tough,” Sargent said afterward. “I just kind of stuck to my game and just let it fall into place. It was just a tough day and just had to manage expectations well.” 

With the win, Sargent becomes the ninth freshman in NCAA history to win the individual title and the first since 2007.

2022 MLB All-Stars' best NCAA baseball postseason highlights, moments

Here are some of the best highlights and notable college baseball moments from the 2022 MLB All-Stars.

Which players have won both a College World Series and an MLB World Series?

Former Vanderbilt standout Dansby Swanson is the most recent player to have won both a College World Series and MLB World Series

No. 8 Arizona upset at home, Aliyah Boston makes history and more from a packed Thursday night of women's hoops

South Carolina star Aliyah Boston had her 20th straight double-double Thursday night. She eclipsed former LSU star, now WNBA legend Sylvia Fowles who previously held the conference record. 

Subscribe To Email Updates

Enter your information to receive emails about offers, promotions from and our partners