golf-men-d1 flag

Gary Putnik | | June 1, 2022

Texas wins 2022 DI men's golf national championship

Texas wins the 2022 NCAA men's golf championship

The Texas Longhorns are the 2022 DI men's golf national champions. The Longhorns defeated Arizona State 3-2 on Wednesday evening in the title match at Grayhawk Golf Club. 

This is Texas' fourth national title in program history and first since 2012, when Jordan Spieth and Dylan Frittelli helped lift the Longhorns to their first of the match play era. 

Parker Coody claimed the first point for Texas with a 6 and 5 win over James Leow. He was followed by his brother, Pierceson, who took down Preston Summerhays 2 and 1. The Coody brothers finished with a 4-2 record in the match play portion of this year's championship.

After the Coodys closed out, it seemed as though a Longhorns victory was imminent. But the Sun Devils didn't just hand over the title. David Puig fought back from down one on the 16th to win the match on the 19th hole over Mason Nome.

Just behind Puig, Cameron Sisk clawed back from down two on the 15th and eventually take it to the 18th. There, Travis Vick played a clean hole, avoiding the rough or hazards, and brought his birdie putt close enough for a concession from Sisk to win the national championship. 

In all three of the matches that Texas won, the Longhorns never trailed.

You can click or tap here to see the complete results from the 2022 DI men's golf national championship.

Georgia Tech's Christo Lamprecht finishes as low amateur at 2023 British Open

Helped by an opening-round 66, Georgia Tech rising senior Christo Lamprecht captured the Silver Medal at the 2023 British Open as low amateur finisher.

Spikemark Golf LLC named to manage NCAA golf scoring and ranking services beginning with 2023-24 season

The NCAA announced that Spikemark Golf LLC will become the provider for all golf scoring and ranking services utilized by the Association beginning with the 2023-24 season.

Florida men's golf downs Georgia Tech to win fifth title in program history

The Florida Gators won the 2023 DI men's golf national championship Wednesday in Scottsdale, Arizona.