April 27, 2009

NCAA Release

- The NCAA Division II Women’s Golf Committee has selected the teams and individuals that will compete in the NCAA Division II Women’s Golf Championships.

The 2009 NCAA Division II women’s golf super regional competition will be conducted May 3-5 and 4-6.  Each super regional will consist of both team and individual competition conducted concurrently with nine teams and four individuals from non-qualifying teams at each site.  All participants will compete throughout the 54 holes of competition.  The top three teams along with the top three individuals not with a team from each super regional, will advance to the championships.

The 2009 NCAA Division II Women’s Golf Championships will be held May 13-16, at the University of Findlay in Findlay, Ohio.  

The championships will consist of both team and individual competition conducted concurrently.  All participants will compete throughout the entire 72 holes of competition.  In the team competition, the low four scores for each team will count in each day’s total score.  The number of participants that qualify for the finals is 72.

The following teams and individuals were selected to participate in the championships.

Super Regional One Teams:
1.    Grand Valley State
2.    Indianapolis
3.    Ferris State
4.    California (Pennsylvania)
5.    Ashland
6.    Drury
7.    Southern Indiana
8.    Northern Kentucky
9.    Findlay

Super Regional One Individuals:
1.    Carmen Titus, Rockhurst
2.    Sarah Duplessis, Bellarmine
3.    Amie Koerner, Missouri-St. Louis
4.    Amy Sachs, Lewis

Super Regional Two Teams:
1.    Nova Southeastern
2.    Rollins
3.    Florida Southern
4.    Lynn
5.    Barry
6.    Pfeiffer
7.    Belmont Abbey
8.    West Florida
9.    Wingate

Super Regional Two Individuals:
1.    Daniela Iocabelli, Florida Tech
2.    Maria Luz Besio, Newberry
3.    Kelsey Babos, Catawba
4.    Sarah Jane Sinard, Carson-Newman

Super Regional Three Teams:
1.    Upper Iowa
2.    Concordia-St. Paul
3.    Minnesota State Mankato
4.    Fort Hays State
5.    Mesa State
6.    Augustana (South Dakota)
7.    Winona State
8.    Montana State-Billings
9.    Southwest Minnesota State University
Super Regional Three Individuals:
1.    Chelsey Ouren, Minnesota State Moorhead
2.    Sara Wissing, Nebraska-Kearney
3.    Jenny Ives, Adams State
4.    Kelsee Katsampes, Wayne State

Super Regional Four Teams:
1.    St. Edward’s
2.    Tarleton State
3.    Western Washington
4.    Cal State Monterey Bay
5.    Sonoma State
6.    West Texas A&M
7.    Central Oklahoma
8.    Cal State Chico
9.    Nebraska-Omaha

Super Regional Four Individuals:
1.    Raelyn Smith, Angelo State
2.    Stephanie Bird, Northeastern State
3.    Jennifer Lutz, Grand Canyon
4.    Heather Wilbur, Dallas Baptist


One:    Cedarbrook Golf Course
    California, Pennsylvania
    California University of Pennsylvania, host
    May 3-5

Two:    Mission Inn Resort & Club
    Howey-in-the-Hills, Florida
    Sunshine State Conference and Central Florida Sports Commission, hosts
    May 3-5

Three:    Westward Ho Country Club
    Sioux Falls, South Dakota
    Augustana College, host
    May 4-6

Four:    Ironwood Golf and Country Club
    Omaha, Nebraska
    University of Nebraska, host
    May 4-6

In the 2008 championship, Rollins College held off Nova Southeastern to win the NCAA Division II Women's Golf Championship.  

For more information about the 2009 NCAA Division II Women’s Golf Championships, log on to www.ncaa.com.