May 9, 2010

NCAA Release

The NCAA has released the teams and individuals that have advanced to the NCAA Division I Women’s Golf Championships.

The championships will be conducted May 18-21, at the Country Club of Landfall, Wilmington, North Carolina.  The University of North Carolina, Wilmington is hosting the championships.

Three regional competitions were held May 6-8.  Of the 369 regional participants, 126 advanced to the finals.  Eight teams and two individuals, not on a selected team, advanced from each regional.  All participants will compete throughout the entire 72 holes of championships competition.  In the team competition, the low four scores for each team will count in each day’s total score.

The selected teams and individuals are listed below.

East Region:                               Individuals:

1. South Carolina                         1. Rosalyn Kim, Texas Tech

2. Tennessee                                2. Nina Muehl, East Tennessee State

3. Auburn

4. Duke

5. Vanderbilt

6. Tulane

7. Pepperdine

8. TCU

Central Region:                          Individuals:

1.  Southern California                 1.  Marta Silva Zamora, Georgia

2.  Arizona State                         2.  Kimberly Kim, Denver

3.  Purdue

4.  New Mexico

5.  Oklahoma State

6.  Florida State

7.  Oregon

8. Kent State

West Region:                          Individuals:

1.  Arizona                             1.  Megan McChrystal, LSU

2.  UCLA                                2.  Ellen Mueller, Oklahoma

3.  Texas

4.  Alabama

5.  Virginia

6. Stanford

7.  San Jose State

8. Texas A&M

For ticket information, call 910/962-7536.  For golf championships results, go to the NCAA Web site at Live streaming of the final two rounds of the golf championships will also be available online at Holes 16, 17 and 18 will be streamed on Thursday and Friday, May 20 and 21.