WINTER SPRINGS, Fla. -- No. 1 Nova Southeastern took down the rest of the nation’s top-five teams to win the Peggy Kirk Bell Invitational on Tuesday for the fourth consecutive year. The Sharks finished the tournament with a score of 928 (308-310-310).

The Sharks won the tournament with consistent play down the stretch. NSU had its best round of the tournament in round one, recording a 308, butslipped two strokes in the second round while No. 4 Lynn and No. 2 Florida Southern moved ahead of them.

Kirk Bell Invite Final Results
1 Nova Southeastern 928
2 Florida Southern 931
3 St. Edward's 933
4 Lynn 938
5 Barry 941
Complete Leaderboard

The Sharks were not shaken by their third-place finish after round two, and maintained their strong start through the end of the tournament. The Mocs and Fighting Knights both shot at least 15 strokes worse in the final round, allowing NSU to win the tournament by three strokes.

For the third time in four years, the Sharks have also taken the individual championship. No. 2 Abbey Gittings won her first championship of the spring season, as she shot a six-over-par 222 (76-73-73). Gittings trailed Grand Valley State’s Sara Hoffman by three strokes entering the final round.

Gittings won the title with consistent play, repeating her score of 73 from the previous round. Hoffman had her worst score of the tournament in the third round and slipped to third place after shooting an 80.

No. 1 Daniela Ortiz captured sole possession of second place Tuesday, as she finished with a score of eight-over-par 224 (75-75-74). She was the only Shark to have her best round of the tournament on the final day.

No. 5 Liliana Cammisa tied for sixth place in the tournament, shooting a 229 (75-76-78). Claudia Wolf improved on her second-round performance and finished tied for 51st with a score of 253 (82-86-85).